Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

Taco Night

Workout 

I started off Wednesday morning the best way possible- with BodyPump!  I got to the gym a little earlier than usual, so I had time to hop on the treadmill for 15 minutes for some running intervals before class.  After class was finished, I got back on the treadmill for another 10 minutes of intervals before calling it quits.

Breakfast

I made one of my favorites for breakfast.  A PB+Banana Sammy!

I topped a toasted whole wheat English muffin with peanut butter, banana slices, and a drizzle of honey for good measure 🙂 .

Lunch

While watching TV (mainly the Casey Anthony trial) in the morning, I must have seen the same Subway commercial ten times.  It was advertising the new Turkey, Bacon and Avocado sub, and each time I watched, the more tasty it looked. I decided to save my 5 bucks and make my own healthy version at home!

I toasted a whole wheat sandwich thin and topped it with Dijon mustard and deli turkey.  I sliced an avocado and placed the slices on top of my sandwich.  Take that, Subway.

On the side, I had some baby carrots and a dill pickle spear.

Dinner

As I’ve mentioned before, I am definitely a creature of habit when it comes to meals.  I know what I like, and I’m OK with that!  I have a feeling when Corey and I have a family one day, we will definitely be the family that has certain nights of the week dedicated to the same meal.  For example, Taco Night!  Who wouldn’t look forward to that each week?  Well, it was taco night for us on Wednesday, and we let one of Old El Paso’s Soft Taco Dinner Kit take care of the details.  I generally like to buy my own taco shells so that I can get whole wheat, but I decided regular shells wouldn’t kill me.

I cooked some ground turkey meat with a packet of taco seasoning, and then got busy chopping up tomatoes, red onion, and lettuce for toppings.

We each had a salad to start, topped with lettuce, onion and diced mango.

I filled up two shells for myself, with all the toppings- tomatoes with red onion, lettuce, a little shredded cheddar cheese, salsa, and a small dollop of sour cream.

I love taco night!

Do you have certain nights of the week that you eat the same meal? 

 

 

 

Comments on: "Taco Night" (1)

  1. I love taco nights. I have a chicken taco for lunch 😀

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

