Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

Energy Crash

Yesterday morning started off on a great note.  Corey and I managed to drag our butts out of bed at 6:30AM, and we headed out the door for a 3-mile run.

We cut our new route a little short this time, because a) Corey’s knee was bothering him and b) I was dying.  What can I say- sometimes I can power through the pain, and other times I feel like laying down in traffic would be a better option.

I will say this: I don’t know how runners in Florida can manage to run outside at any other time than early in the morning.  It has been so hot lately!  My car has read “100 degrees” for the last 3 days, and it’s brutal.

Breakfast

A big, creamy yogurt bowl sounded great after a sweaty run.

I filled a small bowl with a cup of Fage 0% Plain Greek Yogurt, and topped it with sliced strawberries and banana, walnuts and a drizzle of honey.

Lunch

For lunch, I was in the mood for a veggie-filled salad.

I topped chopped Romaine lettuce with a chopped plum tomato, raw broccoli florets, a chopped eggwhite, and half of an avocado.  I also drizzled a little Organicville Sesame Goddess dressing over top.  I’ve decided that a little avocado on a salad makes a world of difference in the flavor/texture department.  Love it!

Energy Crash

As soon as I got to my class, I felt like something was wrong.  Even though I got 8 hours of sleep the night before, and I ate two filling meals before class, I had a sudden energy crash!  I could not keep my eyes open for the life of me.  I know Anatomy and Physiology isn’t the most titillating subject for some people, but it’s never bored me to the point of falling asleep, so that’s why I was confused as to what was going on with me.  I even contemplated leaving during our break so I could go home and sleep!

I think the fact that I didn’t have carbs in my breakfast or lunch may have had something to do with it.  I will be testing this theory today!

Dinner

I was pretty hungry when I got home, so Corey and I quickly got to work on dinner.  We marinated some salmon fillets in teriyaki and cilantro and threw them on the grill.  We also grilled some zucchini slices, mushrooms, and sliced bell peppers.

 

How do you cope with a mid-afternoon energy crash?

Comments on: "Energy Crash" (1)

  1. Love that yogurt bowl. I have one of those with cereal after my morning workout 😀

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

