Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

Grill Pasta

Happy Friday Eve, everyone!

This week has flown by, which makes me extra happy, since I am wearily counting down the days until I am done with this hellish class!  4 more weeks, for those who want to count down with me 🙂 .

Workouts

On Tuesday, I did a solid cardio session, starting out on the treadmill with 30 minutes of running intervals, followed by 15 minutes on the elliptical.

I have been seriously missing strength training in my routine!  I inadvertently took a week-long break from weights, so I was excited to get to a BodyPump class yesterday.  It felt good to be back, and I am definitely feelin’ it today!  After class, I did 15 minutes on the elliptical before heading home.

Breakfasts

Look out, smoothies– I have a new go-to breakfast! At least for this week.

I’ve been making lots of oats!  I’ve switched from my usual packets of flavored oatmeal to using “old fashioned oats”, cooking a serving (1/2 cup) with either water or almond milk in the microwave, and then stirring in some flava!  The “flavor” part has been in the form of peanut butter, unsweetened cocoa powder, honey, or all three!

I love oats because they keep you full for a longer period of time, which has been great, since I now have less opportunities to eat throughout the day during the week.

Lunches

Go-to breakfasts have been followed by go-to lunches lately.  It’s actually starting to get a tad on the boring side, but I’ve found that this routine is helping power me through my looong class, so I’m going with it.  Enter: Salad with Ginger Dressing.

Romaine lettuce, bell pepper strips, and a serving of Naturally Fresh Ginger Dressing.  On the side, I enjoyed a Granny Smith apple and a spoonful of peanut butter.

Dinners

On Tuesday, Corey and I went to Dexter’s for “$1 Burger Night”.  Nope, you didn’t read that wrong.  It literally is $1 for a burger.  Can’t beat that!  I ordered mine with bleu cheese and mushrooms.

Last night, we concocted a little something I’m referring to as “Grill Pasta”.  I’ve found that grilling food takes it to a whole different level.  I would much rather eat grilled vegetables than steamed, and I would much rather have chicken cooked on the grill than in the oven or a skillet.  Corey grilled some vegetables and chicken, and I got busy making a simple sauce.  We tossed everything together and sprinkled with parmesan cheese, and it was just delicious.

Grill Pasta

Servings: 3-4

Ingredients:

1/2 box whole wheat spaghetti

2 cups chopped broccoli florets

1 large Vidalia onion

4 chicken cutlets

1/4 cup sundried tomatoes

1/2 cup white wine

1 tablespoon Smart Balance

3 garlic cloves, diced

1 pinch red pepper flakes

salt and pepper

1 teaspoon dried chives

Directions:

Slice the onion in half.  Chop one half, and slice the other half into wedges.  Place the onion wedges and broccoli in tinfoil, spray with non-stick spray, and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Prepare the chicken for grilling, any way you like.  Place vegetables and chicken on the grill until cooked through, about 8-10 minutes.

Cook the pasta according to package directions and drain.

In a skillet over medium heat, spray with nonstick spray and add the chopped onion.  After 2 minutes, add the garlic.  Add the Smart Balance and then the white wine.  Add the sundried tomatoes and other spices.  Cook for about 2-3 minutes and remove from heat.  Add the hot pasta to the sauce.  Cut the grilled chicken into bite-size pieces, and add that and the grilled vegetables to the pasta and toss everything together.  Sprinkle with parmesan cheese and serve.

You could add any grilled vegetables and meat you like to this dish, and it would still be great- and the best part- it’s ready in minutes!

Comments on: "Grill Pasta" (1)

  1. I’m a big time oat girl in the mornings too, I just can’t give them up. And they really do keep my full for a long time!
    Love the burger and pasta, everything looks delicious

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

