Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

1 Day With Mom

I sure managed to cram a lot of stuff into 24 hours!  My mom had her 30th Annual Spring Recital for her piano students yesterday.  She teaches over 120 students, and the recital is a big affair.  Every year, she performs a special song for everyone.  This year, I volunteered to sing, which meant I took a short road trip to Ft. Lauderdale on Saturday, and got back yesterday.

Workout

On Saturday, I knew I had to get in a workout of some kind because a) I really slacked off last week, and b) I knew I wouldn’t have a chance to workout on Sunday.  Corey convinced me to try out his new running route around our new neighborhood.  Exciting news: not only did I run the whole time, but we tacked on an extra mile to our distance!  Goodbye, 2.5 miles, helloooo 3.5!

And it feels soo good…

Breakfast

I opted for my new go-to breakfast: the classic PB ^2 + H.  In case you’re not a math whiz, that’s Peanut Butter, Banana and Honey.

Lunch

Corey treated me to lunch at my favorite spot- Green Lemon Cafe- as a mini-farewell for the weekend.  As I’ve mentioned, Green Lemon is known more for their delicious crepes than anything else, but I always go for the awesome Tuna Salad with Balsamic.

Corey ordered the Chicken Florentine Crepe, which comes filled with chicken, monterey cheese, spinach, and pesto.

Dinner

I arrived in good ol’ Laudy daudy at around 5 o’clock.  Just in time for Happy Hour on the porch with my mama! We had a glass of wine and chatted away before heading to one of my favorite restaurants ever (even though I’ve only been there once before)- Seasons 52!  If you are not familiar with Seasons 52, it is an upscale restaurant that features seasonal menu selections all under 475 calories.  Don’t worry, nothing on the menu lacks in flavor!  The food is fresh, cooked to perfection and just simply to die for.

When we sat down, we ordered drinks, and then I insisted that we order probably the most high-calorie appetizer they had (oops)- Mushrooms Stuffed with Shrimp and Crab- because I am a sucker for anything stuffed inside a mushroom.

The mushrooms were all covered in a crispy layer of cheese (yes, please), and even came individually tucked into mushroom-sized holes in this special ceramic dish!  On a side note, I will be registering for similar dishes, because I’m sure I will need to make these every night.

For my main dish, I opted for the Rainbow Trout, served with grilled carrots, asparagus, new potato wedges, and a grilled lemon, for extra flavor.

I was starting to get full when my meal arrived, probably because I ate my weight in cheesy mushrooms, so I boxed up the half of my meal that I didn’t finish.  Don’t worry- there’s always room for dessert!

Fortunately, Seasons 52 doesn’t offer gigantic desserts with names that make you gain 5 lbs. just from reading them- instead, they offer a variety of small bites, that come served in shot glasses.  I went with what our waiter described as a cousin to Tiramisu.

Everything was so delicious!  I wish I could eat there every freakin’ night.

My mom and I had a lovely time, and the service wasn’t bad either- my mom was a big fan of our waiter, Pete.

Hi Pete!

***************************************************************************************************************

On Sunday, we woke up pretty early, because we had lots to do before the recitals started at noon.

Breakfast

I made a quick breakfast sandwich- egg whites on a toasted whole wheat sandwich thin, spread with Laughing Cow Sundried Tomato and Basil Cheese, and topped with diced tomatoes and onion.

After running recital-related errands and setting up the hall, the students and their families began trickling in, and the first show started.  I opened each of the 4 recitals by singing, “I’ll Stand By You” (video soon to come!) You can see my sister and I singing the opening a few years ago, here.

While the students played I headed into the back room of the hall to study for my class, and do other productive things, like take obnoxious pictures of myself:

I'm workin' my butt off over here!

I took a lunch break in between shows, which included a 6-inch turkey and provolone on wheat with lettuce, tomato, banana peppers, and pickles from Subway.

My mom and I in our recital gowns (told ya it’s a big affair!):

The last show ended around 6:30PM.  We packed up the car and headed home after a long day!  I changed out of my gown and into some comfy clothes, packed up my car with my own stuff, and got back on the road to Orlando.

Dinner

I wish I could say dinner was as impressive as the night before, but…it was a big FAIL!

I tried to be a good girl and ordered a grilled chicken sandwich from Wendy’s, but I took one bite, spit it out, and threw the sandwich away, vowing to become a vegetarian. It was sick.

BAD sandwich!!!

Instead, dinner looked more like this:

(Thank you to the students who gave these to my mom- you saved me from starvation! 🙂 )

All in all, it was a fun weekend, and I loved getting to spend some much-needed time with my fabulous mom!

It’s Monday- back to the grind!  

Comments on: "1 Day With Mom" (1)

  1. AWWWWW can we do it all over again????? NOT. It was a lot of fun having you Carly. Thanks for recapping the 24 hours in such a fun and thorough way!!! Love you!!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

