Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

Workout

I woke up early Thursday morning in the mood for a spin class!  OK, that’s a complete lie.  I woke up in the mood to sleep until 12 and do nothing all day, but I forced my butt out of bed at 7:30, and headed to the gym for an 8:45 spin class.

Breakfast

I toasted a whole wheat sandwich thin and topped it with a childhood classic- peanut butter, bananas and honey!

Lunch

I’m still trying to figure out the best way to eat throughout the day, due to my new class schedule.  I have to leave my house at 12:40 in order to be in my seat a little before 1:30.  Class runs until 4:45…so when the heck do I eat lunch?!  I’m usually not hungry around noon, so I decided to try packing my lunch and eating in the car.  Part 1 of my meal was a Lemon Chobani Greek Yogurt:

At around 3:00, our professor gives us a 20-minute break.  I took that opportunity to run out to my car and eat a salad that I packed.  It included butter lettuce, red and yellow bell pepper strips, and Naturally Fresh Ginger Dressing <—– amazing.

I forgot that ginger dressings tend to fall under the “less is more” approach, so this was a little too dressing-heavy for my taste.  I’ll be more careful next time!

After I finished eating, I went back to class to spend another 2 hours pretending I know what all of these numbers represent:

Dinner

My family visits North Carolina every year, and one of our food traditions is to go to Backyard Burgers.  I always thought this fast-food restaurant was indigenous to NC, but I came to find that we have one here in Orlando.  Fortunately, I have managed to steer clear of the burger joint, but that doesn’t mean I can’t recreate my favorite BBQ Bacon Burger at home!

I loosely followed my own recipe for BBQ Turkey Burgers, and Corey put them on the grill.  I decided that one little slice of regular bacon won’t kill me, so I topped my little burger-of-love with a crispy slice.

We served our burgers on whole wheat sandwich thins.  On the side, we enjoyed plenty of sweet potato fries and steamed broccoli.  Delish!

Hope you’re weekend is off to a great start- I’m heading to Ft. Lauderdale today!  

Comments on: "Backyard Turkey Burgers" (1)

  1. mmm burgers… I just ate breakfast and I’m already craving a burger! 🙂 Looks delish! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

