Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

Workout

I can so easily get out of the routine of working out, and it sucks!  I took Sunday off, as I normally do, but then, Monday and Tuesday came and went, and I hadn’t done a darn thing.  I was determined to make it to the gym on Wednesday, and I did.  I completed 20 minutes on the elliptical, followed by 25 minutes of running intervals on the treadmill.

Breakfasts

Tuesday was a big day for my brain- I had to take a 3-hour nursing school entrance test, and then go straight to a 4-hour class!  I knew I needed a filling breakfast, so I turned to trusty oatmeal to do the trick.

I microwaved the oats with a 1/3 cup almond milk, and then stirred in a tablespoon of peanut butter.

Yesterday, I pretty much repeated the same meal, except that I used a packet of Quaker Weight Control Oatmeal in Maple Brown Sugar.

Lunch

After finishing my entrance test, I had a short break before my class started, so I headed over to Publix to grab a sandwich.  I ordered Boar’s Head Turkey on whole wheat, with honey mustard, lettuce, tomato, pickles and banana peppers.

Dinners

Tuesday’s dinner was simple.  I quickly cooked a package of whole wheat gnocchi in boiling water, and then tossed it with 1/2 cup marinara sauce.

On the side, we had a Greek Chopped Salad.  This is one of my favorites.

Greek Chopped Salad


Servings: 4-6

Ingredients:

3 heads Romaine lettuce, chopped

3 large tomatoes, seeded and diced

1/2 red onion, finely chopped

3/4 cup feta cheese

10 kalamata olives, pitted and chopped (optional ingredient)

1 cucumber, finely chopped (optional ingredient)

For the dressing:

1/3 cup red wine vinegar

1/3 cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil

2 tablespoons Dijon mustard

Whisk together in a bowl with a pinch of salt and pepper.

Directions:

After all ingredients are chopped, throw in a large bowl, top with dressing and feta cheese, and mix together.

**************************************************************************************************************

Last night, we had another great salad- Taco Salad!

This is a great solution for dinner when you want to feed a lot of people for cheap.  Plus, if you do it build-your-own style, it’s a huge time-saver.  There are tons of variations for this meal- just pick your favorites!

Taco Salad


Select Base: chopped Romaine, shredded iceburg, brown rice

Select Protein: ground turkey, lean ground beef, shredded rotisserie chicken, CrockPot pulled pork.  Cook meat with 1/2 packet of taco seasoning.

Select Beans: black, pinto, garbanzo

Select Veggies: diced tomatoes, chopped onion, cilantro, corn (use all of them!)

Select Fats: (use only one, or a combination, but do so sparingly) reduced-fat sour cream, shredded cheddar cheese, avocado slices

Select Dressing: I like to use salsa from a jar, but you could use any regular salad dressing you like!

Directions:

Place each ingredient in it’s own bowl, and set up a build-your-own-salad bar!


Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

