Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

Expectations

I’m really not someone who likes to brag or toot my own horn, but…since this is my blog…

May I 🙂 ?

Take a look at THIS:

AND

I have never been happier about any accomplishment in my life.  I have never received straight A’s in college, much less received anything higher than a B in a science course.  I took 3 science classes in one semester, each one more daunting and challenging than the next, and I got A’s.

Which leads me to the following topic…

In high school, I was dubbed the “dumb blonde”.  I really wasn’t dumb, but I played into the cutesy role that was pushed upon me without hesitation, something I wish I could take back.  Some expected me to get married immediately and not really do anything with my life except shop.  Others thought that my singing ability might take me far.  Others still, thought I might be on TV as a weather girl or a host.

Recording a demo in high school

Winter Court Queen

So, what did I want?

Honestly, it didn’t seem to matter.  It was never something I gave a lot of thought to, because it was all decided for me.  I was going to be a singer, or I was going to be on TV, or I was going to be famous and THAT’s that.  Talk about pressure!  Those aren’t exactly tangible goals, am I right?

Finally, during my junior year of college, it hit me.  I was on Facebook (of course), and saw at least 10 of my sorority sisters’ statuses that said, “I got into UCF Nursing School!”  I thought to myself, “That is so awesome.  I wish I could do that, but it’s way too hard. I’m not smart enough to pass all those science and math classes.  Oh, well.

Later, I mentioned my inner thoughts to Corey about my friends in nursing school, and he looked at me said, “Wait- what do you mean it’s too hard?”  He told me that I could do anything I wanted, and he encouraged me to go after it.  I did a lot of research about nursing.  I went to hundreds of different websites, forums, watched videos, learning anything and everything I could about the profession and the different types of degrees available for nurses.  Eventually, I created a plan of action.  I decided that because I was already so far into my Communications degree, I would finish it, and use it as a way to get me into a one-year accelerated BSN program, which is available only to those who already hold a Bachelor’s in another field.  I have been working towards this goal ever since, although I did encounter several set-backs.

I spent the day yesterday with my “big sister” in my sorority, Jessi.  Over breakfast, we had a conversation that really opened my eyes to something.  She was explaining how her whole life, she has been working towards this “dream” of being a news anchor on TV.  In high school, she was class president and very involved with the TV production class.  Everyone, including her parents, expected her to be a famous news anchor one day, and she thought that’s what she wanted.  Turns out, after several jobs in the industry, she realized it’s never been what she wanted, but what everyone else wanted for her.  She has now discovered that she truly wants to be a teacher, with a side business of freelance photography, which she is incredibly talented at.

Jessi and I on Bid Day

After she said this, it dawned on me that I’m not the only one who has dealt with this kind of pressure- the pressure of other people’s expectations of what you should be.  

I think it is common for our friends and family to see where are talents are and hope for the highest and best possible outcome for our lives.  It is great to have that kind of support.  But, when it gets to the point where YOU don’t know what you really want, it’s time to step back from what others want and focus on what you want for your own life.  After all, you’re the one that has to live it, not them, right?

I can honestly say that I have never been happier in my entire life.  I am so excited about my future profession, and I am so thankful for the people that pushed me to go after what I wanted.  I proved to myself that I AM SMART– that I can accomplish anything I put my mind to, and that is a great feeling.

Winning a pageant

Singing at Miss Florida

Graduating from UCF

Have you felt the pressure of expectations before?  

Comments on: "Expectations" (13)

  1. Man, I know exactly how you feel.

    I got a degree in Communications as well…honestly, because I thought I couldn’t succeed in those Science Classes.

    And what do ya know? All A’s here too! GO US! 🙂

    And now I start my Accelerated Nursing Program in June! 🙂

    • YAYY LISA!!! I’m so excited for you! Congrats 🙂 I’m hoping to start mine in July- fingers crossed!

  2. This is great! I’m so happy for you. Congratulations. It is truly rewarding, unlike any other feeling in the world, to literally see your hard work paying off in such a great way. I am a firm believer that education is the one thing you can never have too much of, and is also the one thing that NO ONE can ever take away from you as long as you live. Keep it up!

    • Thank you! That is so true- I never appreciated the importance of education until now- it is a gift! (an expensive gift….) 🙂

  3. I’m a biology major, so I know first hand just how tough those classes are. You did awesome!! Congrats!

    I’m in kind of the opposite boat.. I’ve been pursuing my biology degree and then planning on going to medical school for the past four years with encouragement from just about everyone I’ve come across. Now that I’m about to graduate, I’m realizing that a career in medicine isn’t for me. I’m hoping that I can find some good job opportunities when I graduate.

    • Thank you so much!

      I think people get into that predicament more often than you would think- the thing that helped me the most is remembering that even though college is ending, we’re still SO young- there’s time to do whatever we want! Think about what you could truly see yourself doing and being that happiest while doing it. And, hey, it never helps to do a little internet research! Congrats on graduating!

  4. Congratulations! I can’t even imagine taking 3 science classes in one semester! You seriously deserve to give yourself a pat on the back. That’s awesome! I’m finishing up my freshman year at college and cannot wait to get these exams over with so I can finally relax 🙂 and hopefully my science grades will be as good as yours haha 🙂

  5. *Andrea* said:

    great post!! it can be hard sometimes when other people try to compliment you or envision your future and then you start to believe what they’re saying as the ONLY possibility. Congrats on the A!

  6. *Andrea* said:

    ps my mom is a nurse and although i could never do her job, i respect her SOOOO much and am so grateful to have her to look up to. nurses are amazingly smart, intuitive and have to deal with so much (from families of patients, other nurses, even doctors) and often don’t get enough credit.

    • THANK YOU for saying that- it really is so refreshing to hear from someone who actually understands and appreciates what nursing is all about! 🙂

  7. Caitlin said:

    Hey Carly,
    I just recently discovered your blog while I was researching healthy eating and I’m so happy I did! Your post today was so motivational and exactly how I feel at this time in my life. I was considered the “dumb blonde” in my high school classes and even though nursing always interested me, I wasn’t confident enough to pursue it. Fast forward to today, I’m 24 and I just recently lost 25 lbs and got accepted into a competitive nursing program for the fall and it feels great. I couldn’t be happier and it’s great to know that you are pursuing the same goals : ). Congratulations! and I love your blog!

    • That just made me so happy to read! What an awesome story! Congratulations on getting into your program- I’d love it if you kept me updated on what it’s like! 🙂 Thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

