Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

This passed Sunday can best be described as a foodie’s dream come true.  We skipped the gym, ate all of our favorite foods, and even attended our first Food Truck Bazaar!

Breakfast

Corey and I awoke feeling pretty tired, because we both woke up several times throughout the night.  We had a few errands to run, but we decided to go to breakfast first.  We both agreed that our favorite breakfast place, called Keke’s Breakfast Cafe, sounded perfect.

We split a Greek Eggwhite Omelet, which had a mix of feta cheese, spinach and tomato inside.  On the side we enjoyed some breakfast potatoes and whole wheat toast.

We also shared a small breakfast salad, which was nonfat yogurt topped with granola, banana slices, strawberry slices and blueberries, all drizzled with honey.  So good.

After breakfast, we spent the day running various errands for our new place.  First stop- none other than the place that I dread most in the world: HOME DEPOT.

I swear, the second I walk into that place I automatically start yawning and feel like my legs weigh 100 pounds.  Luckily, our trip was short and sweet.  We were on a mission- a new ceiling fan!

I really wanted this one, but for some reason, Corey said no.

Next, it was off to a place that’s a little more fun for me- Bed, Bath and Beyond.  I love browsing all the fun kitchen items, mentally adding things to my registry.

How adorable is this mini Crock Pot?!

Although I didn’t bring the baby Pot home with me, I did find a little something for myself:

A re-usable cup, just like my coffee thermos.  Yay for hydration.

Later on, it was time for lunch.  We debated between several places, and just as I was about to pull into our favorite Mexican restaurant, Corey yelled for me to turn left…I was NOT happy when we pulled up to this:

Thai food? NOOOO!

Corey has been dying to try SEA Thai, but I always tell him Thai food sounds completely unappealing.

Today, I lost.

It was slightly reassuring to see all the awards in the windows:

I browsed the menu, and decided to go with the safest option- Vegetable Pad Thai.

I lost again.

The food was phenomenal.  If you can’t tell from this:

We actually ordered the Vegetable Spring Rolls when we sat down, but they didn’t come until our meals arrived.  Timing didn’t matter, because we still ate them all, and they were just as delicious as our main course- especially the Plum Sauce. 

We decided to go to the night service at church, because the Food Truck Bazaar was right across the street.  After the service, we walked over and entered what I assume resembles the streets of Heaven.

Food trucks were everywhere, and the intriguing smell of unique cuisine filled the air.

We quickly picked a truck and hopped in the long line.

While I waited in the first line, Corey got in another line and grabbed us our first item- a chili and slaw hot dog on a whole wheat bun from a truck that hasn’t even debuted on the streets yet, so we don’t know their name.  Whatever they’re called, the hot dog was amazing.

When we finally got to the front of the line at Big Wheel Provisions, we decided to share two different sliders.  The first was house-cured salami:

The second was a PLT- Pork, Lettuce and Tomato- however, the pork was local raised, and melt-in-your-mouth good.

For our next stop, we really wanted to try the Korean BBQ Taco Box, which has received rave reviews, but the line was about an hour long.  No thanks!

We decided to skip the rest of the trucks, because the lines were getting ridiculous, but we weren’t leaving without one last treat from the YumYum Cupcake Truck!

We picked out two cupcakes to share- a chocolate with peanut butter frosting, and the cupcake-of-the-day, which was lemon meringue.

YumYum!

I’ve had my fair share of cupcakes, and to be honest, I didn’t have high expectations for ones that have been sitting in a truck for hours.

For the third time in one day, I was wrong!

These were truly the best cupcakes I’ve ever had in my life.  We started with the chocolate and peanut butter combo.

The chocolate was rich and moist, and the peanut butter frosting had just the right amount of salty and sweet.

Next, we tried the lemon meringue.

I loved this one just as much as the peanut butter cupcake.  It was light, moist, and perfectly lemon-y.  The meringue impressed me the most, because I didn’t quite understand how meringue could stay set up for so many hours, but they successfully did it!  It was sweet and also lemon-y, and complemented the cupcake’s flavors perfectly.

The moral of the story is, thank God I have Corey to share food with or I would weigh 500 pounds.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

