Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

I See the Light

I SEE THE LIGHT!

2 finals down, 2 more to go…tomorrow night at 7PM I’ll be done with the hardest semester of classes I have ever experienced!  Can I get an AMEN?!

Workout

On Monday, I was feeling extremely stressed out.  The fun holiday weekend was over, which left me with no groceries in the fridge, tons of studying ahead of me, and an Easter-candy-induced stomach ache.  I considered skipping my workout, but as soon as I walked in the door from my class, Corey was in workout clothes and convinced me to head out for a run with him.  I felt much better afterwards, and I was happy to get in a little sweat sesh to relieve some stress.

Tuesday, however, was way too busy, so I did end up taking the day off from working out.

Breakfast

After all the rich food and pounds of candy that was devoured over the weekend, my body was craving something healthy for breakfast ! On Monday, I whipped up some scrambled egg whites with chopped green pepper, topped with a little salsa.

Yesterday brought about the return of my breakfast smoothie!


I love the addition of cooked oats- it thickens up the smoothie, and makes me stay full for much longer.

Lunch

On Monday, I didn’t have much to work with in the lunch department.  I ended up putting together a little snack plate for lunch, including rolled up turkey, swiss cheese and Dijon mustard, with pear slices.

Yesterday’s lunch was a 6-inch Turkey sub from Subway, which was the remainder of a footlong that I got on Monday for dinner. My sub included lots of veggies: spinach, tomato, green pepper, banana peppers, and pickles.  Pickles are vegetables.

Dinner

Monday’s dinner, like I said, was the other half of the above sandwich from Subway.  Corey and I decided to grocery shop Monday night, but decided we weren’t in the mood to wait for dinner to cook, so we walked over to grab sandwiches, instead.

Last night, I was craving pasta like whoa.  I have a new theory- I think that studying really hard for many hours is the equivalent to your body of running long distance.  Anytime that I study for more than a few hours, I feel exhausted and starving, as if I just worked out really hard!  Anyone have any thoughts on that?

I’m sure that my theory isn’t right, but it makes me feel a lot better to pretend that studying burns the same amount of calories as running, so let’s just go with it.

I cooked two Publix Ready-to-Cook breaded chicken cutlets, while waiting for some whole wheat bow tie pasta to finish cooking.

I tossed the pasta with 1/3 cup Publix Fresh Basil and Tomato Marinara and 1 tablespoon of Philadelphia Cooking Creme in Savory Garlic, to make it a little creamier, sort of like vodka sauce- minus the good part.

I cut the chicken into bite-size pieces and topped the pasta with it.

This definitely hit the spot, and made me feel re-energized.  Which turned out to be a bad thing, since I ended up going to bed about 30 minutes later.

One thing I’m really looking forward to in my post-school life is going back to eating dinner at a normal time!  It’s never a good idea to go to bed full of pasta.

Back to the grind!

Do you think studying burns calories? (Say yes)
Comments on: "I See the Light" (5)

  1. Studying BETTER burn calories! Maybe that’s why I was WORLDS thinner when I was in college?!

  2. Definitely agree that studying uses calories. Fuel is needed 🙂 :

  3. Haha I love this post…and I totally feel for you! I have two finals next week and I am so ready for them to been done! I’ve found that I can usually study and ride the stationary bike at the same time 🙂 I guess that’s what I’ll be doing this week!

    • I WISH I could do that…I’ve tried studying while on the elliptical or bike and for some reason it makes me feel sick…kind of like car sick but for exercise equipment? Definitely a good idea though! Good luck on your finals!

  4. Yes, i think studying burns calories like running the New York marathon!!! Feel better? And AMEN to your first statement!!! It’s all over now!!!! At least for a bit. How bout those tornadoes??? Thank God Kristie is fine!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

