Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

It still amazes me that just a few months ago, the idea of waking up at 5AM for a workout seemed inconceivable.  Look at me now! 

Friday is my favorite day of the week to workout, for reasons I still haven’t figured out.  I guess I like to start the weekend off on the right foot!

Workout

I woke up at 5AM, put on my gym clothes and headed to a 6AM spin class.  The class was very intense, thanks to the fitness competitor/drill sergeant who taught the class.  I’ve taken her class before, but it’s been a while…she doesn’t mess around.  After getting sufficiently sweaty, I did something that made me feel VERY grown-up!

I did a lot of pre-planning last night, and made my breakfast and lunch ahead of time, as well as laying out my gym clothes, and packing a gym bag of my work outfit and toiletries to take to the gym.  The thought of showering and getting ready for work at the gym is something that has always seemed daunting, and the fact that Corey does it daily without hesitation has always amazed me.

Well, the moral of the story is I successfully got ready for work in the women’s locker room.  However, let me say this- I don’t care how old I am, I will never find it acceptable to walk around butt naked while holding conversations with other women.  I was approached to “chat” THREE different times by completely naked women! How is that normal?! My eyes are still bleeding.

Breakfast

I decided to attempt a breakfast that is pretty famous in the blogosphere- Overnight Oats!  To make them, you combine uncooked oats and milk in a container, and in the morning, the oats will be ready for eatin’ and toppin’ with your favorite fruits, yogurt, or whatever you’d like!

Before

So…I’m not exactly sure where I went wrong, but this attempt goes into the “Fail” category (along with my kale chips).

I think there was a myriad of missteps that are to blame, including the fact that I added too much almond milk and let it sit in the car for an hour while I was in the gym.  I’m not giving up yet!  Overnight oats WILL happen for me!

To see successful Overnight Oats recipes, click here, here, or here.

After breakfast, I headed off to teach at the middle school.  Once again, they thought it would be fun to have me teach PE class.  I’m not sure which screams “I’d-be-perfect-to-teach-something-athletic” about me more- my Tory Burch flats or my Farrah Fawcett hair?

Source

Lunch

I had a colorful and veg-tastic lunch after teaching, which consisted of leftover steamed broccoli and sweet potato fries, alongside a sliced pear.

After lunch, I had an important task to complete: Cleaning the apartment before my parents arrive for Easter!  I blasted the Britney Spears Pandora station, and got to work!

Once the place was spic ‘n’ span, I sat down and blogged away while sipping my favorite beer, Orange Blossom Pilsner:

Corey got home from work and we decided to go to Happy Hour at our new spot, CaddyShanks (don’t worry, Mitchell’s will make a return next weekend!).

I ordered a Magic Hat #9 while we watched…ESPN on 27 different TV’s.  <—-How did I get dooped into that?!

Oh, now I remember…I was bribed with THIS:

We shared a small mushroom and artichoke pizza, which was really good!  I love artichokes on anything and everything.

We came home to change clothes and get “going out” ready, because we had plans to meet a bunch of our friends down by UCF to watch the Magic game.  Somehow, in the 10 minutes it took me to get ready, all of our plans fell flat.

That’s when I sent out my best sad-face to the Twitterverse along with this Tweet:

Don’t you hate when you get completely ready, just to find out that you’re going NOWHERE?! Biggest pet peeve!

Oh, well.  There’s still plenty of fun plans to enjoy for the next two days- I LOVE EASTER!

Comments on: "All Dressed Up With No Place to Go…" (2)

  1. Were the women old who wanted to chat with you naked?! Somethign about those older women…they just don’t care one bit do they?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

