Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

Chocolate Pancake Muffins

I have an announcement:

IT’S FRIDAY, FRIDAY, FRIDAYYYYY!!!!

(While 100 million people hate her, I think I might actually like Rebecca Black for paying such well-deserved homage to my favorite day of the week.)

Breakfast

The fridge is starting to look pretty sad, but I really don’t want to go buy a bunch of food before we move!  But, I have been getting pretty darn creative with meals, so that’s a plus!

Yesterday’s breakfast was a whole wheat bagel thin (no surprise there), topped with peanut butter and pear slices and a dusting of cinnamon.  I ate the rest of the pear on the side.

Ok, so that’s not that creative.  Keep reading!

Lunch

After lots of studying and driving to go take 2 quizzes (A’s on both- holla!), I was definitely ready for a good lunch.

I toasted a whole wheat sandwich thin and topped it with sliced deli turkey.  On the side, I had some leftover sweet potato fries.

I also had a Fage Nonfat Greek Yogurt with Blueberry Acai, BUT...we all know I only ate the yogurt and threw away the nasty blueberry stuff.  I like that Fage is making it that much easier for me to avoid fruit in my yogurt 🙂 .

Workout

I skipped the gym in the morning and opted for an afternoon workout.  I read the latest issue of BRIDES Magazine while on the elliptical for 20 minutes.  I had a lot of energy, so I hopped on the treadmill and did 30 minutes of intervals, which can be seen here.

Dinner

I got home late again, so dinner needed to be easy!  I baked 2 Publix Ready-to-Cook Chicken Florentine’s, microwaved a bag of my favorite Steamfresh potatoes, and served everything alongside steamed broccoli.

Here’s where it gets creative!

After dinner, we were both craving something sweet, but, like I’ve said, we’re pretty much running on empty over here.  What does one do when they know they want dessert, but don’t have a lot of ingredients?  Turn to the blogs, of course!

I ended up stumbling upon Julie’s Baked Pancake, and decided that if pancakes can be a cake, they can probably be muffins, too!

Corey wanted chocolate, so I added cocoa powder and cinnamon, and Chocolate Pancake Muffins were born!

Chocolate Pancake Muffins


Servings: 5

Ingredients:

1 cup Fiber One Pancake Mix

3/4 cup almond milk

1 egg

1/2 tablespoon cinnamon

1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tablespoon Splenda for Baking

Directions:

Combine ingredients in a bowl and mix together.

Line a muffin tin with cupcake liners, or grease really well.  Pour mixture about 3/4 of the way up.

Bake in the oven at 425 degrees for 15 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted in the center.

I topped mine with sugar-free maple syrup, just like a pancake!

These are perfect for breakfast, dessert, or even just a snack.

Thanks to Julie, for the inspiration!

Comments on: "Chocolate Pancake Muffins" (2)

  1. […] also had a Chocolate Pancake Muffin with peanut […]

  2. That is very creative!! Helpful hint: when baking muffins and you find yourself with one empty “hole” you are supposed to fill it halfway with water or…… anything. Just don’t leave it empty. Not exactly sure of the reasoning for this but it has always stuck with me. You are a funny yogurt eater!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

