Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

Artichoke Dip for One

I decided to skip a Tuesday blog post, because Monday’s meals didn’t deserve their own post.  In fact, I feel the need to apologize in advance if my posts for this week and next week are scattered and the meals aren’t up to par- this may happen due to several factors.

  • This week and next week are my final exams.
  • We’re moving this weekend and next weekend.
  • I’m too stressed to grocery shop!
Not kidding about the stress thing.  I’ve been very good about keeping myself organized and pretty stress-free throughout this semester, which has been the hardest of my life to date, but now that it’s down to the wire, I’m feeling the heat!  It is imperative that I do very well on all exams during these final two weeks, because the nursing program I am applying to is super competitive.  Wish me luck!
Workout 

On Monday, we woke up early and went to the gym for a semi-easy workout.  I ran next to Corey on the treadmill for 20 minutes, completing an interval workout that he came up with.  We walked for 1 minute, ran for 2 minutes at 6.0, ran for 1 minute at 7.0, then walked for a minute at 4.0.  We repeated it up to 20 minutes.  I hopped on the elliptical for 15 minutes while waiting for Corey to complete his weights workout.
I planned to go to a spin class yesterday morning, but I went to bed not feeling like myself, and woke up feeling the same way.  I felt tired and lazy, and decided to take the day off from working out.
Breakfast

Monday’s breakfast was my out-of-groceries go-to meal, peanut butter on a whole wheat bagel thin:
Yesterday, I had the rest of a big tub of 0% Chobani Greek Yogurt, sweetened with Splenda and topped with a 1/4 cup of Kashi 7 Grain Puff Cereal.  I also had a big orange on the side.
Lunch

Monday’s lunch came in the form of leftover Pei Wei from Sunday night.  Vegetable and tofu fried rice:
Yesterday’s lunch was in three parts.  I came home from my afternoon class starving, as usual, but, like I said, we’re low on groceries!  I grabbed the first thing I saw, which happened to be broccoli, heated it up and drizzled Kraft Toasted Sesame Dressing on top.
A little later, I started getting snacky, and went in the kitchen on a mission to find something else to eat.  I settled with some chips and salsa:
I liked the whole chips-n-dip idea, and ended up creating something fabulous! I spotted a lonely can of artichoke hearts in my pantry, and decided to try making my own artichoke dip, which happens to be one of my favorite appetizers at restaurants.  I gathered up some other ingredients:
Chopped garlic, reduced-fat feta cheese, and Philadelphia Cooking Creme in Savory Garlic.
I threw the ingredients into the blender, gave it a whirl for a minute, and poured the dip into a dish.
I sprinkled a little fat-free shredded cheddar over top and microwaved it for 45 seconds.  Voila!  My own personal artichoke dip.
I served my dip with one serving (6 chips!) of blue corn chips.
*Tip*: To avoid accidentally eating multiple servings of chips, which easily adds a ton of calories, measure out the serving size, and then break them up so it feels as though you’re eating more chips than you actually are.  Besides, the dip is the good part, anyways!
Artichoke Dip


                                              Servings: 1-2 (could easily be doubled
or tripled and baked in the oven for a party appetizer)
Ingredients:
1 can artichoke hearts
1 tablespoon reduced-fat feta cheese
1 tablespoon Philadelphia Cooking Creme in Savory Garlic (could substitute plain Greek yogurt)
1 teaspoon chopped garlic
1 tablespoon fat free shredded cheddar
Directions:
Add all ingredients to the blender and blend for 1 minute.  Pour into a dish and sprinkle the cheddar on top, microwave for 45 seconds, serve!
After lunch, I headed to my night class.  I wish I had stayed home, because I spent 3 hours dissecting this little guy:
Sorry, Wilbur 😦 . I’m about 97% sure I no longer eat pork.
Dinner

On Monday, I wasn’t in the mood to cook and decided to pick up Chipotle for Corey and I.  I had a chicken salad with black beans, fajita veggies, corn salsa, mild salsa and a little cheese.
When I got home last night, I really wasn’t in the mood to eat meat, for obvious reasons.  Corey made dinner- he picked up some almond-crusted chicken tenders from the Publix Ready-to-Cook section, and baked them.  I had one piece, and filled up on Steamfresh Broccoli and Rotini, instead.

For dessert, I had two chocolate chip cookies that we made over the weekend, and a glass of almond milk.
Time to hit the books!
Are you a vegetarian?  
Why or why not? 
Comments on: "Artichoke Dip for One" (10)

  1. I like that recipe for artichoke dip, it looks simple. And I think I could easily make it for me and my wife. (We’re not as good about measuring our chips.:)

  2. You had to dissect a pig.. are you kidding!? haha Your artichoke dip sounds wonderful! I was looking for a good recipe for it which didn’t involve much, if any, sour cream! This is perfect 🙂

  3. Where are you guys moving? (PS-Are you in Baldwin Park now?) Good luck with the nursing program, I had a bunch of sorority sisters get through it and I know how incredibly difficult it is! It really gave me a new appreciation for nurses and nursing school–it is definitely harder than so many people think!

    • Yep, we’re in BP now but moving to Winter Park…basically like 3 feet away lol. Thanks, hopefully I’ll survive! It’s only one year…which is what I keep telling myself over and over again!!!!

  4. Note: I have no idea why the font size and spacing is all messed up in this post, but I apologize!

  5. I love it when I (successfully) combine a bunch of things in the pantry/fridge into something delicious.

    Your artichoke dip sounds great! I’ll have to try it soon!

  6. […] was actually my intention, but I ended up burning most of it.  Instead, I spread the rest of my artichoke dip onto a toasted whole wheat sandwich thin, and topped it with tomato slices and the roasted kale […]

  7. […] that whenever I insert bullet points into my posts, it messes up my font and spacing, like in this post. Is this happening to any other WP […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

