Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

Greek Orzo Salad

Does anyone else out there have a countdown going to the end of this semester?

I’m DYING, people!

Workout

Yesterday morning started in the middle of the night.  5:10 AM wake-up calls ova here! Corey and I headed to BodyPump, and it was a great class, as usual.  I had said to Corey that I was happy that we had avoided being called out as the “new people” in the class, but I clearly spoke too soon, because the instructor walked right over to us (even though we’ve been to her class before), and talked to us with her microphone on, of course, explaining that we set something up wrong.  Naturally, it was me who convinced Corey to set up our steps that way, too.  Oh, well. It wouldn’t be my life if it wasn’t embarrassing on a daily basis!  🙂

Breakfast

Get ready for a day full of smoothies!  I made an exact replica of Tuesday morning’s smoothie, and it was just as fabulous the second time around.

Lunch

Yesterday’s lunch turned out to be another repeat. This time, it was a repeat of Monday’s salad.

  • Romaine
  • Roasted cauliflower
  • Roasted brussel sprouts
  • Roasted asparagus
  • Reduced-fat feta cheese
  • Mustard-Yogurt Dressing

Yum!

Before I left for class, I decided to make part of our dinner ahead of time.  This is a recipe I’ve made a lot in the past, and it’s always gone by the next day!

Greek Orzo Salad


Servings: 4-6

Ingredients:

1 cup (uncooked) orzo

3 tomatoes, seeded and chopped

1/2 red onion, finely chopped

10 kalamata olives, pits removed and chopped

1 tablespoon Dijon mustard

2 tablespoons red wine vinegar

1 tablespoon EVOO

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon oregano

1/2 cup reduced-fat crumbled feta cheese

Directions:

Cook the orzo in salted boiling water for 9 minutes.  Drain, and then run under cold water to stop the cooking process.

Pick out the container you plan to store the pasta salad in.  In the bottom of it, add the mustard, oil, vinegar, garlic powder and oregano and whisk until well combined.  *Note*: I used yellow mustard this time, but I highly recommend Dijon.

Add the pasta to the dressing.

Mix to coat.

Add the chopped veggies and cheese, and mix until everything is combined.

Cover and refrigerate for at least 1 hour before serving.

Dinner

Well, I wish I could say I came home and whipped up a fabulous dinner featuring my Greek Orzo Salad, but…that didn’t actually happen.  In fact, something that never happens, happened. I came home and was too tired to even think about eating real food.  Corey had grabbed something to eat after playing in an intramural basketball game, and was practically asleep when I got home.  Only one thing came to mind…

Smoothie!

I threw this morning’s same ingredients into the blender, and drank my dinner.

I also grabbed a fork and parked my butt in front of the counter where I ate at least one serving of the Greek Orzo Salad.  We went straight to bed at 9:30!

I guess we’re officially old.

Comments on: "Greek Orzo Salad" (3)

  1. looks delish! I need to be making more of my salad dressings from scratch. Thanks for the inspiration! 🙂

  2. […] finished off the last (told you it would be gone by the next day!) of the Greek Orzo Salad.  I don’t know why I find it so hard to eat this off an actual […]

  3. Not sure how I feel about Orzo salad, not a fan…..BUT I will be the first to admit that I have been keeping a running tally on how many days I have left of school since……CHRISTMAS!!! That’s how OVER it I am!!! I think the latest count for ME is 25. Praise the Lord.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

