Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

I took a necessary bloggy break yesterday due to a HUGE test in Microbiology last night.  Glad that’s over with!

Let’s talk TUESDAY:

Workout

I woke up and went to a 45-minute spin class.  I’m happy to report that the Charlie Brown instructor was nowhere to be found.  However, I am very unhappy to report that my favorite instructor announced that she’s moving next week to CALIFORNIA!  Just my luck.  She said her replacement will be a guy named Michael.  Hmm…guess I’ll find out how I feel about that soon enough!

Spinning is all about putting your mind over matter, and really focusing in on getting the work done.  For some people, that’s all it takes for them to make it through the class without quitting.  Not this girl.  I have to have a goal.  I have to have something in my head that I picture the entire time to help motivate me to finish the class strong.  Yesterday, it was all about these three things:

Coffee

+

Smoothie

+

Bikini Bod

I guess two out of three isn’t bad.  I can have a smoothie any day.

JUST KIDDING! 😉

Source

Source

Source

Breakfast

I pretty much had the blender going as soon as I walked in the door, and today’s smoothie was on point.

Into the blender went:

  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1 scoop Muscle Milk Chocolate Protein Powder
  • 7 frozen strawberries
  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 tablespoon peanut butter
  • Splenda

Cold and refreshing!

After breakfast, I showered and did some homework before heading to class.  My Tuesday afternoon class is really long, and my stomach keeps growling embarrassingly loud halfway through the class each week.  I think my lab partner is onto the fact that it’s me, so I decided to grab a snack to-go.

I had just enough yogurt left in my big tub of Chobani for another serving, so I topped it with sliced strawberries and chopped almonds and ate it in the car.

Lunch

When I got home, I didn’t have much time before my next class, so I made a quick cheese quesadilla in the microwave!

I placed a slice of meunster cheese and 2 tablespoons of Fat Free shredded cheddar down the middle of a whole wheat tortilla, folded, and microwaved for 15 seconds.  I topped it off with some Roasted Garlic Salsa from the store.

On the side, I had an orange:

On my way there, I spotted a rainbow!

I didn’t get quite as excited as this guy, though.

Dinner

When Corey and I were at Barnes and Noble over the weekend, I came across this recipe in Cooking Light magazine that sparked my interest.  I wrote down a few of the ingredients, and made an adaption of their recipe for dinner.

I bought this at store, which I substituted for the mascarpone cheese called for in the recipe, because it was less expensive:

I made sure to only use the serving size, so that I wouldn’t add a lot of extra fat to the dish.

I also picked up a can of these, which I substituted for farva beans:

Creamy Bow Tie Pasta with Mushrooms and Soybeans


Servings: 3-4

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups whole wheat farfalle (bow tie pasta)

8 oz. baby portabella mushrooms, sliced

1 1/2 cups organic soybeans, rinsed

1/4 cup Philadelphia Savory Garlic Cooking Creme (you could substitute Mascarpone cheese or possibly Greek yogurt)

1/2 onion, sliced

1 clove garlic, chopped

Directions:

Cook the pasta according to package directions, drain and set aside.

Heat a skillet over medium heat, spray with nonstick spray and add the onion.  Cook for 2 minutes.

Add the mushrooms and garlic and cook until everything is browned, about 5 minutes.

Add the soybeans and mix together, cook for an additional minute.

Add the pasta and the Cooking Creme, and mix until everything is well combined.  Cook for an additional minute.

Serve!

This is a great vegetarian dish, especially since the soybeans add the necessary protein component.

 

Comments on: "Creamy Bow Tie Pasta with Mushrooms and Soybeans" (6)

  1. You are in Micro? eek. I am too. I find it SO boring.

    • YES! I’m also taking A+P 1 AND Chemistry…please shoot me. I actually find Micro interesting (I’m a big fan of Gram Staining…lol), but it’s hard as crap!

  2. I think I have seen that youtube before but when it was linked to YOUR rainbow it made it even funnier!!!! You are too much. I love you!

  3. […] ready for a day full of smoothies!  I made an exact replica of Tuesday morning’s smoothie, and it was just as fabulous the second time […]

  4. I love your description of how to get through spinning!! I gotta admit that I tried it once two years ago and I left halfway.. I just was not having fun at all and my girly parts were in pain! (sorry overshare). but I haven’t been back… until now I joined a new gym and whenever I walk by the class of 50+ bikes of people working together it makes me want to try it! I think I will take your advice and keep my mind focused on why I am there and what I am going to get as a reward (always a smoothie 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

