Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

Easy Veggie Pizza

I turned into an accidental vegetarian yesterday 🙂 !

Workout

We woke up bright and early, surprisingly enthusiastic about our morning workout.  I spent 20 minutes on the elliptical before hopping on the good ol’ Stair Master for another 10 minutes.  I planned to spend longer on the SM, but I’m pretty sure it was slowly but surely breaking while I was on it.  Whoopsies! After my cardio, I did an arm workout, consisting of bicep curls, tricep extensions, front and lateral raises, and lat rows.  Details here.

Breakfast

As most readers have probably gathered by now, I have fruit issues.  I hate different types of fruit “touching”, I hate certain textures, etc.  Well, today I was a big girl and decided to try a BLUEBERRY smoothie!  My mom probably just fainted reading this.  

I basically used my usual smoothie ingredients, but switched out strawberries for bluebs!

Into the blender went:

  • 1/2 cup almond milk <—- Corey’s mad that I got “unsweetened”. Oops!
  • 1/4 cup nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1 scoop Muscle Milk Chocolate Protein Powder
  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 tablespoon peanut butter
  • Splenda
  • Handful of ice

It was surprisingly delish.  I think it helped that the banana and chocolate flavors kind of covered up the blueberry taste.  And I blended it up extra long, so none of the blueberry “pieces” were too big.  I might as well be in a highchair demanding ‘sghettis for dinner.

Lunch

I ended up spending most of my day in the kitchen.  I went to the produce market to stock up on veggies, and by “stock up” I mean I went a little overboard.  I decided to roast a bunch of my veggie impulse buys to use in different meals this week.  I got to chopping, and then spread out a mixture of asparagus, cauliflower and brussel sprouts on a cookie sheet, sprayed with nonstick spray, sprinkled on some garlic powder and roasted for 20 minutes at 425 degrees.  I scooped up about 1 cup of the veggies and topped a plate of romaine lettuce with them to make a lovely Spring salad.

I topped my salad with 1 tablespoon reduced-fat feta cheese, and a homemade mustard yogurt dressing.

To make the dressing, combine in a bowl:

  • 1 tablespoon nonfat plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon yellow mustard
  • 2 teaspoons light mayo
  • 1 tablespoon water

Mix until everything is completely combined, and it has a dressing consistency.  Add more water, if necessary.

Delish!

Dinner

I got home super late from class, much later than usual.  I hate eating dinner close to 10 o’clock, but…sometimes, it happens!  What I love is having a quick and easy dinner idea that I don’t have to think about when I walk in the door.

I bought a tube of refrigerated Pillsbury Pizza Crust that I layed out on a cookie sheet and prebaked for 5 minutes at 400 degrees.  While it baked, I chopped up the following veggies, each into very thin slices:

  • 1/2 red onion
  • 1 green bell pepper
  • 9 white mushroom caps

I took the prebaked dough out of the oven and spread 1/2 cup of a simple marinara sauce that I had in the refrigerator (you could use pizza sauce, or plain tomato sauce- whatever you have on hand).  I spread the sliced veggies out over the sauce, and then sprinkled on 1/4 cup fat free shredded mozzarella and 2 tablespoons reduced-fat feta cheese.

I popped it back in the oven for 10 minutes, and dinner was ready!

Veg-tastic!

What are your favorite veggies to add to a pizza?

Comments on: "Easy Veggie Pizza" (3)

  1. I love putting fresh tomatoes, basil, pine nuts, capers, and carmelized onions on my pizza…so good!

  2. […] Yesterday’s lunch turned out to be another repeat. This time, it was a repeat of Monday’s salad. […]

  3. […] out, smoothies- I have a new go-to breakfast! At least for this […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

