Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

Breakfast for Dinner

Bring it on, Monday! I’m ready for ya!

Breakfast

Corey and I woke up and got ready for church, with just enough time to have a quick breakfast.  I chose a 1/2 cup of Kashi 7-Grain Puff Cereal with unsweetened almond milk, and half of a toasted whole wheat bagel thin topped with peanut butter.

Corey made a pot of coffee, and I took a cup to-go.  He pointed out that my outfit and my thermos were color-coordinated:

Special.

After the service, we stopped by Barnes and Noble and read some magazines for an hour or so, because we had time to kill before the Orlando Magic game started.  We made plans the day before to go to Graffiti Junktion to watch the game and have lunch, and that’s what we did!

Lunch

Graffiti Junktion is a really unique, “artsy” bar/restaurant, located in downtown Orlando. The decor is, as you would probably expect, graffiti-centered, bright and busy.

Source

The fun decor is secondary to the star of the show- their burgers!  They have been voted “Best Burgers” several times, and for good reason.  We decided to start with our favorite appetizer, the Zucchini Fries.

The waitress mentioned that the Soup of the Day was Beer & Cheese Soup, and both of us agreed that it sounded like a must-try.  We shared a bowl, and it was so delicious!

For the main event, we decided to split the Chi-Town Burger, which was stuffed with bleu cheese and mushrooms.

By the time the burger came, I was already getting pretty full, so I ended up just having a few bites of my half and surrendering it over to Corey.  So, basically my lunch consisted of fried, cheese, and more fried.  Oops.

After the game was over, we stopped by the store and picked up a Sunday paper.  After watching TLC’s “Extreme Couponing” last week, we were both inspired to try this whole coupon-clipping thing for ourselves!  I channeled my mother and got to work snipping away.

I felt the need to stash the “1/2 Off a Milkshake” from Steak ‘N’ Shake for a rainy day, OK? So, sue me!

After I made a shopping list including some of our coupon items, we went to the grocery store and got to work.  Here’s what I learned.

  • There are no coupons for health foods.
  • Coupons make you think you need things that you do not, in fact, need.
  • We could buy 100 items, or 12 items…it doesn’t matter.  We are always going to spend 90-FREAKING-5 dollars every week.

So, after realizing that half of my coupons were for items that our Publix doesn’t even carry, we ended up using one for Nestle Tollhouse Cookie Dough, and one for Truvia Natural Sweetener.  Our grand total of savings? $1.75.  Cost of the Sunday paper? $1.60.  That would be a savings of $0.15.  I don’t think I’m in the running to be featured on the next episode of “Extreme Couponing”.

Workout

After shopping, we decided to head out for a run.  I was really mad because my iPod was dead, and I absolutely despise running without music.  Corey agreed to run “at my pace” so I wouldn’t be bored, and this lead to an argument that lasted for most of our run about how “my pace” isn’t really that much slower than “his pace”…so that kept me occupied for most of the time!  I was able to run the whole 2.5 without stopping, and at a slightly faster pace than usual.  Yay for improvement!

Dinner

We decided that good ol’ “breakfast for dinner” sounded perfect after our run.  I made a batch of Fiber One pancakes:

I was excited to use my favorite happy-face spatula:

Twins! (Including the red post-run face)

And I also whipped up 2 professional-looking spinach omelets!

I started with 2 egg whites and 1 egg, mixed with 1 tablespoon almond milk and 1 cup chopped fresh spinach:

I poured it into a skillet and let it cook until the bottom was firm, and then I added 2 tablespoons fat free shredded cheddar, plus 1 tablespoon reduced-fat feta cheese down the middle, and flipped one side over:

I let it continue to cook until the middle was no longer runny.

What’s your favorite “breakfast for dinner” meal?

Comments on: "Breakfast for Dinner" (8)

  1. You have the prettiest hair! Have you ever thought of doing a tutorial? It always looks so adorable 🙂

  2. Yay Graffiti! I live like two blocks from it, so I am a frequent visitor–particularly on Thursday nights for trivia! lol. Did you know you could substitute at no cost zucchini fries instead of the regular fries with the burgers??? 😀

    • WHAT?! I did NOT know that…but I think I would probably still order them as an appetizer, too…lol. We used to go on Thursday for trivia!

      • You should go again and we should combine teams because my boyfriend and I don’t ever stand a chance with these extremely humongous 16 ppl teams! 😦

  3. Good job on your run!!

    I watched the “xtreme couponing” program last night and I was impressed!! I’d get epic hubby points if I could do that…then maybe he wouldn’t make faces every time I’d want to sign up for another race!! I’ll be taking notes!

    Have a good night pretty lady! 🙂

  4. […] Corey and I were at Barnes and Noble over the weekend, I came across this recipe in Cooking Light magazine that sparked my interest.  I wrote down a few […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

