Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

Going Green

Yesterday’s meals were unintentionally GREEN!

Workout

Corey and I woke up at the buttcrack of dawn and headed to BodyPump.  Afterwards, I completed 20 minutes on the elliptical while flipping through the latest issue of Brides Magazine- which, by the way, featured my wedding colors as an “it” combo of the season! I am so stylish 😉 .

Breakfast

If you are an avid health blog reader, you are probably very familiar with the term “Green Monster”.  It seems that recipes for green smoothies are all over the place, and why shouldn’t they be?  It’s a great idea to add healthy greens to your morning meal.  But, let’s face it, no one wakes up craving spinach, which makes a Green Monster the perfect solution.  The sweetness of the fruit hides the spinach taste, and the only way you would know it’s in there is by the green color.

Into the blender went:

  • 1 cup fresh spinach leaves
  • 1 scoop Muscle Milk Chocolate Protein Powder
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 tablespoon peanut butter
  • Splenda
  • 1 banana
  • Handful of ice

After breakfast, I did a lot of homework, and then drove to go take two quizzes.  I guess it really is a great idea to start your day with greens, because:

1. I got A’s on both quizzes 🙂

2. When I got home, green was on my mind, and this little lunch was born:

Lunch

I toasted a whole wheat sandwich thin and topped it with leftover pork, a slice of meunster cheese, and a drizzle of Green Sauce.  On the side, I enjoyed some steamed broccoli, also topped with Green Sauce, and some green grapes.

After lunch, I went to my night class.  I was really tired by the time I got home (which is pretty typical these days!), and I was dreading having to make dinner.  Sometimes, when I’m that tired, my recipe creativity goes into overdrive and I come up with some really good ideas!  Our dinner was literally on the table in 10 minutes, from start to finish.

I turned on the broiler to preheat, while prepping some steak and veggie kabobs.  I sliced 2 portions of Top Sirloin steak, with the fat trimmed away, into cubes.  I also sliced one large onion into wedges, and a GREEN pepper into bite-size chunks.  We just happened to have skewers on hand, which is kind of important when making kabobs.  I skewered the meat and veggies, layed them on a cookie sheet and drizzled them with:

I placed the cookie sheet in the oven and set the timer for 10 minutes.

While they cooked, I microwaved a bag of Steamfresh Lightly Sauced Roasted New Potatoes in Garlic Butter Sauce.

A day full of green makes me feel just fabulous!

What is your favorite green food?

Comments on: "Going Green" (2)

  1. […] my hair was done, I came home and made a quick lunch, consisting of a leftover steak kabob that I turned into a […]

  2. GUACAMOLE BABY!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

