Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

Pork Tacos

I’m seriously gonna need to get an intravenous supply of coffee going if I’m expected to stay awake through my class tonight.  I haven’t stopped going since 5:15 this morning!  But, I’ll fill ya in on that tomorrow.

Work Out

I started my day yesterday with spin class!  I really like the instructor of the class I’ve been going to, but I must say, “adult” spin classes are a little too “laid back” for my liking- at least, when compared to the ones I used to take at my college’s gym.  Don’t worry- I definitely still get extremely sweaty, which always makes me feel like I did something right.

Breakfast

I came home and made a lovely little yogurt bowl.

I topped a cup of Chobani 0% Plain Greek Yogurt with a sliced banana, a chopped pear, some Splenda, and 1/4 cup of Kashi 7 Whole Grain Puffs cereal, for crunch.

Lunch

My midday meal came in the form of leftovers, thanks to Baked Spinach Ziti from Monday night.

This was even better the second time around!

Before I left for class last night, I got started on dinner.  I bought a lean pork roast from the store, and I decided to turn it into pork tacos!


I simply placed the roast in the slow cooker with:

  • 1 large onion, sliced
  • 1 1/2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 can enchilada sauce
  • 1/2 packet Taco Seasoning

That’s it!  I gave it a stir, put on the lid and let it cook for 7 hours on Low.

When I got home from class, all I had to do was pull the meat using two forks.

I drained the liquid from the meat and placed what I was planning to use into a separate container.

To make the tacos, I heated up some whole wheat tortillas in the microwave for about 15 seconds.  Then I placed a portion of the meat down the center and topped it with Roasted Garlic Salsa from the store, a drizzle of Green Sauce, and a few avocado slices.

I’m pretty sure there has never been a more simple weeknight recipe than this one.

Comments on: "Pork Tacos" (4)

  1. Sarah @ healthygirlrunning said:

    Wow, I can’t believe how easy that is! I’m definitely gonna have to try that recipe out myself! 🙂

  2. […] toasted a whole wheat sandwich thin and topped it with leftover pork, a slice of meunster cheese, and a drizzle of Green Sauce.  On the side, I enjoyed some steamed […]

  3. […] topped chopped Romaine and spinach with shaved carrot and leftover pork from my Pork Tacos.  I drizzled the last of the Green Sauce over top as […]

  4. […] to add garbanzo beans or hardboiled eggwhites.  If you’re a meat-lover, grilled chicken, shredded pork, or deli turkey are all great options.  If you wanna get really fancy, add some grilled or baked […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

