Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

Green Sauce

Come baaaaack, weekend!

Doesn’t it always go by too fast?

I’ll tell you about my lovely Sunday so I can relive it.

Breakfast

Before heading to church yesterday, I toasted a whole wheat bagel thin, spread with a little Smart Balance spread, and served with a sliced pear on the side.

After the service, we ran some errands before debating where to have lunch.  We have both been talking about how we wanted to go to a Sunday brunch somewhere, but the only place we knew of in the area that had one didn’t sound that great to either of us.  We opted to stop by one of our favorite little sandwich shops, called 903 Mills Market.

903 Mills Market is a cute little place, located basically in the middle of a neighborhood.  Although parking is hard to find, it’s well worth searching for a spot.  They offer a variety of unique sandwiches and salads, as well as a big selection of craft beers.  On Sundays, most people can be found sitting outside on the “porch” sharing pitchers of Mimosas.

For my meal, I decided to have half of a tuna sandwich on their homemade wheat bread, and the Lake Davis salad, consisting of spring mix, cherry tomatoes, bleu cheese and pecans, with balsamic vinaigrette.

Corey had half of the California Club with the Thai Peanut salad.

Both of our meals were delicious, as always.

We spent the rest of the day running some more errands before coming home and taking Bella on a 2.5 mile walk around the lake by our house.

At the grocery store, I was really thirsty, and picked up this noteworthy bottle of Vidration Vitamin-Enhanced Water in Dragon Fruit flavor while I was in the checkout line:

I have never heard of the brand before, but I really liked it!  It was very flavorful, and definitely quenched my thirst.  It’s sweetened with Splenda, so it has zero calories, which happens to be my favorite number.

Dinner

One of our favorite meals in college was from a place called El Corral.  You could get 1/4 of a chicken, yellow rice, black beans and a drink for 3.99.  We were sad to leave El Corral behind when we moved, but we discovered that one of the chains near our apartment, La Granja, offers almost the same thing.  However, we’ve always said that it would be nice to be able to make the meal at home sometimes.  I mean, it’s just chicken, rice and beans- how hard could it be?  Well, both El Corral and La Granja have one special item that makes it hard to recreate their simple meal- SAUCES!  Both places have a variety of sauces and salsas that bring tons of flavor to the table, literally.  My favorite is “the green one” (they don’t really have names).  I decided to try to make my own version of their green sauce, and I think I came pretty close!

Green Sauce

Servings: 6-8

Ingredients:

1 cup fresh cilantro

1/4 cup Light Mayo

3 tablespoons chopped garlic

1/4 onion, roughly chopped

1/4 teaspoon chili powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon cumin

1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1 teaspoon lime zest

2 tablespoons lime juice

1/4 cup water

Directions:

Add all of the above ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend until well combined.

Drizzle over tacos, rice, steak- you name it!

We picked up a rotisserie chicken at the grocery store, and I also microwaved some Steamfresh Brown Rice:

And a can of Bush’s Reduced Sodium Black Beans:

I topped our rice and beans with store-bought Roasted Garlic Salsa, and voila! At-home La Granja, in no time at all.

 

Comments on: "Green Sauce" (5)

  1. […] Corey and I had lunch on Sunday at 903 Mills Market, we flipped through a newspaper that was on the table and came across this […]

  2. […] of the meat down the center and topped it with Roasted Garlic Salsa from the store, a drizzle of Green Sauce, and a few avocado […]

  3. […] wheat sandwich thin and topped it with leftover pork, a slice of meunster cheese, and a drizzle of Green Sauce.  On the side, I enjoyed some steamed broccoli, also topped with Green Sauce, and some green […]

  4. […] topped the steak, onion and green pepper with Green Sauce and a slice of meunster […]

  5. […] and spinach with shaved carrot and leftover pork from my Pork Tacos.  I drizzled the last of the Green Sauce over top as […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

