Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

BodyPump

One of my greatest discoveries through my journey of living a healthy lifestyle has been group exercise classes.

My very first class was when I was a sophomore in college.  I lived in my sorority house, and a bunch of my sisters were going to a spinning class.  They asked me to join them, and I agreed, not having the slightest clue what “spinning” even meant- sounded more like some sort of “How to Be a DJ” class than an exercise class.  I quickly found out just what I was in for.  By the time the class was over, I was drenched in sweat, yet, instantly addicted to spinning.

Me in college, with some of my sorority sisters watching a UCF football game!

There were many other classes that I wanted to try, but for some reason, I could only get up the nerve to go to spinning.  I always found my college gym to be a very intimidating place, so I just never bothered to try any other classes by myself.

Even now, the only class I take at our current gym is spinning. Well, up until yesterday!

I have been dying to take a BodyPump class ever since reading how much my favorite bloggers, including Julie, Lauren, Gina, and Lauren, love it.  I knew my gym offered it, but it has been hard to find a time to go that works with my schedule.  I found a Saturday at 12PM class, and begged Corey to try it with me.  We went yesterday, and I am in love!  Although everything from my eyelids to my toes is sore today, I feel like BodyPump is exactly the kind of workout I was looking for to add to my weekly routine.  I try my best to do strength training on my own, but I end up doing the same weight, same exercises, and same routine twice a week, with no improvements.  BodyPump is the perfect solution to my strength training slump!  Between the music, the upbeat pace and the entertaining instructor (she would sing parts of the songs, and sounded great!), I was able to get an amazing strength workout.  YAY for BodyPump!

Now that I’m feeling brave about classes at the gym, I might even try out a yoga class this week 🙂 .

Breakfast

Before heading to the gym, I made myself a toasted whole wheat bagel thin with peanut butter and banana slices on top.

Unfortunately, only half actually made it into my mouth.  The other half got angrily thrown into the sink because I am literally losing my mind and the bugs were attacking me while I ate and I thought I could hit one of them with my bagel.  Ugh.

When we got home from BodyPump, Corey and I made his-and-hers protein shakes.

Mine included:

  • 1 banana
  • 1 scoop Muscle Milk Chocolate Protein Powder
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup nonfat Greek yogurt
  • Splenda
  • cinnamon
  • Handful of ice cubes

We changed into our bathing suits and brought our shakes down to the pool.  Apparently, everyone in our complex invited every person they’ve ever met to join them at the pool, and there weren’t any lounge chairs for us to sit in.  We sat at a table, and I enjoyed reading my book (it’s gettin’ good!).

Lunch

After a few hours in the sun, we came inside and I made lunch.

I topped a whole wheat sandwich thin with turkey and a slice of reduced-fat provolone cheese and some mustard.  On the side, I had some leftover sweet potato fries.  Yum!

We spent the rest of the day lounging around before heading out to watch the basketball games at Buffalo Wild Wings.  I’m happy to see Butler going to the championship, and I hope they win!  I Tweeted about this last night, but the only reason I like them is because the team and their cute lil’ coach remind me of the movie “Mighty Ducks”.

Source

"Quack, Quack, Quack, QUACK!"

Source

What is your favorite group exercise class?

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

