Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

Under Attack

I hate bugs.

Does anyone like them? I hope not.  But, I’m sure there are people out there that can tolerate to be around them.

I am not one of those people.

I spent the better half of yesterday in my apartment, under attack by what I believe to be fruit flies- they look like flying fleas, which makes me want to vomit.  I found myself surrounded by dead bug bodies by the time Corey got home.

I saved some of my conquests to prove to Corey that they do exist, because he keeps saying that the bugs are “in my head”.  My plan backfired, and he is now convinced that I need a therapist.

I called an exterminator, but he can’t come until Wednesday. I will certainly be mentally unstable by then. Does anyone out there have a solution to this buggy problem?!  The only fruit we had in the house was 3 bananas, and those are now gone, and I also removed the trash from the apartment and put it outside the door. Yet, the bugs remain.  HELP ME!!!

Work Out

Corey and I finally dragged our butts out of bed yesterday morning with enough time to go to the gym before he had to go to work.  I completed 20 minutes on the elliptical, followed by a 15-minute run on the treadmill at a 1.0 incline.  Afterwards, I met Corey upstairs and we did some ab work on the balance ball before heading home.

Breakfast

After my work out, I decided that another oat-filled smoothie was just what I needed.


Into the blender went:

  • 1 banana
  • 1 frozen strawberry, plus 1/3 cup fresh sliced strawberries
  • 1 scoop Muscle Milk Chocolate Protein Powder
  • Splenda
  • 1/2 tablespoon peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup cooked oats
  • Handful of ice

After breakfast, I caught up on some blog reading and watched a recorded episode of Thursday night’s Grey’s Anatomy.  If you watch Grey’s, you know that I was in tears the whole time.  It was also a musical episode, which I loved!  I love musical-anything.

The rainy weather from this week disappeared yesterday, and I was really excited to head out to the pool with my book to relax in the sun.  I put on my bathing suit, lathered up in SPF, and walked to the pool.  Then, I saw this:

Of course it is.

Who does pool maintenance on a Friday afternoon on the most gorgeous day EVER?!

I walked back to my apartment, highly annoyed, and even more annoyed that I was now covered in sunscreen for no reason.  I figured they would be done with the pool eventually, so I layed my towel out on my couch, and read my book while enjoying the view of Bella licking her butt, instead:

Lovely.

After an hour or so, I decided to give my luck another try, and headed back down to the pool.  The sign was gone, and I was able to enjoy the beautiful day!

Lunch

After a few hours in the sun, I was ready for lunch. I came inside and made a big salad, using leftover Lemon Chicken and Zucchini from a few nights ago.

I added some leftover whole grain couscous, and drizzled Kraft Toasted Sesame Dressing over top.  Big salads our always a great solution for lunchtime.

When Corey got home, we got ready quickly and headed right over to Mitchell’s Fish Market for our usual Friday Happy Hour.

Corey ordered a different drink than usual- he got a Dirty Martini, but “on the rocks”:

I love Dirty Martinis, but, since I gave up liquor for Lent, Corey was the only one enjoying the salty goodness.

We ordered our favorite dip, the Crab, Spinach and Artichoke Dip, and enjoyed Mitchell’s amazing sourdough bread with it:

For our second appetizer, we decided to try the Spicy Asian Shrimp:

The shrimp were fried and tossed in a creamy, very spicy sauce.  Corey and I both absolutely loathe cucumbers, but for some reason, the thinly sliced cucumbers mixed with red onion complimented the flavors of the spicy shrimp perfectly.  We were both sufficiently full after our mini meals.

We love Mitchell’s because the seafood is fabulous, but their Happy Hour specials just can’t be beat- they have 6 or 7 amazing appetizers that are all half-price between 4-7.  Between the bread, the dip and an additional appetizer, we both leave with full stomachs and wallets!

After eating, we walked across the street to the movie theatre where we saw Source Code. We shared a box of my second-favorite movie treat, Buncha Crunch:

My favorite movie treat has always been a box of Sno-Caps– but you have to eat them with popcorn.  Salty + sweet never fails!  Corey has always made fun of me for this; he says that he’s never met anyone that actually buys Sno-Caps at the movie theatre.  Apparently, most people agree with him, because our theatre stopped selling them.  How rude!

What is your favorite movie theatre treat?

Do you have a solution to my fruit fly infestation?!

Comments on: "Under Attack" (5)

  1. you do know your uncle hugh is one the best pest control people in the country. why dont you call him and ask him what to do? he is in Stein and the cell up there is 954-309–8168. He would love to hear from you and will probably save you some money. luv ur blog! Is corey for butler or vcu , ky or uconn??

    • Just talked to mom- I will text uncle hugh! IF you care, I’M rooting for Butler and Kentucky!!!! Corey also picked Butler (per my recommendation) and he also picked Kentucky (I copied him).

  2. Try putting out a small glass of red wine. If they are fruit flies they should be attracted to the smell and fly into the glass.

    As far as movie treats go, I’m all about Red Vines! Or some salty popcorn! Was the movie good??

  3. […] mouth.  The other half got angrily thrown into the sink because I am literally losing my mind and the bugs were attacking me while I ate and I thought I could hit one of them with my bagel. […]

  4. […] home from work and we decided to go to Happy Hour at our new spot, CaddyShanks (don’t worry, Mitchell’s will make a return next […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

