Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

Normally, I would say that I enjoy rainy days.  I like the cozy feeling of staying in when it’s pouring outside, curling up on the couch and watching a movie or reading a good book.

This comfy?!

Unfortunately, life must go on when the weather sucks, including my classes.  I left an hour early, as usual, for my class that requires I take the highway to get there.  I didn’t realize I was driving into the middle of a terrible thunderstorm until it was too late.

Source

The wind was literally pushing my car off the road, and huge tree branches were flying over my car.  I was terrified!  I drove 10mph until I could exit the highway, and got home as fast and as safely as I could.  Naturally, as soon as I got home, the rain stopped.  30 minutes later, I got BACK in the car, back on the highway, and showed up just in time for the lab portion of my class.

Just thought I’d share that I’m happy to be alive today, and spending this second rainy day INSIDE and off the road!

Breakfast

I decided to whip up yet another smoothie for breakfast.

I added the usual suspects to the blender:

  • 8 frozen strawberries
  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 scoop Muscle Milk Chocolate Protein Powder
  • Splenda
  • 1/2 tablespoon peanut butter

Cold, refreshing and delicious!

Workout

After breakfast, I went to the gym and completed 40 minutes on the elliptical while watching Top Chef re-runs.  I really prefer watching Food Network while I work out, but it’s a little embarrassing.  Top Chef allows me to appear like I’m watching reality TV, while sneaking in just the right amount of mouth-watering food.  Win.

Lunch

After my workout, I made a turkey sandwich using this deli meat I picked up at the store:

I don’t usually buy lunch meat, but I wanted to get things that Corey could take to lunch for work.  This particular kind has only 50 calories per serving, and the serving is 6 slices.  Sounds good to me!

I topped a whole wheat sandwich thin with turkey, mustard and a slice of reduced fat provolone cheese that I melted onto one half under the broiler for a few minutes, to create a “turkey melt”.

I also stepped out of my comfort zone and decided to try out one of the OIKOS “Fruit on the Bottom” Greek yogurts that I also got for Corey.  I love the chocolate, caramel and vanilla varieties of these yogurts, so I figured strawberry wouldn’t be that bad.

WRONG.

I gagged the entire time I ate it.  I told you, I just can’t handle fruit-flavors! Especially when there’s chunks of fruit involved.  Repulsive.

Dinner

Although I was tired when I got home from class, I knew that dinner was going to come together quickly.  I watched an episode of Barefoot Contessa on Food Network earlier in the week, and jotted down the recipe for Ina Garten’s Lemon Chicken Breasts.  I made a few modifications, such as subbing skinless chicken cutlets for the skin-on chicken breasts that she used.

I preheated the oven to 375 degrees.  In a skillet, I heated 1/4 cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil.

I added 3 spoonfuls of chopped garlic (I used the kind from a jar instead of fresh).

After it started sizzling (30 seconds or so), I removed it from the heat, and added 1/3 cup white wine, 1 tablespoon lemon zest, 2 tablespoons lemon juice, and 2 teaspoons dried oregano.  I poured the mixture into a baking dish, and placed 4 chicken cutlets inside.

I put it in the oven for 20 minutes on 375.  While the chicken baked, I sauteed some zucchini slices.

I also followed the directions for Near East Whole Grain Couscous, using chicken broth in place of water, to add more flavor.

I served the chicken on top of the couscous, with zucchini on the side, and spooned the lemon-y sauce over top of everything:

As Ina would say, “How easy is that?” The chicken was really flavorful, and I loved how simple the recipe was.  I highly recommend giving this one a try!

Have you ever had a scary experience driving in the rain?!

Comments on: "A Dangerous Drive + Lemon Chicken" (4)

  1. that chicken sounds phenomenal! my husband is a chicken-loving freak and i have a feeling he would LOVE this meal.

  2. Sarah @ healthygirlrunning said:

    I hate driving in a storm! It’s so scary and unpredictable!

    Haha! That’s funny about the fruit flavored yogurt! That totally sounds like something I would do! I have this really bad texture thing with food. Some textures just make me gag! I’ve learned to steer clear of those though! 🙂

  3. […] a few hours in the sun, I was ready for lunch. I came inside and made a big salad, using leftover Lemon Chicken and Zucchini from a few nights […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

