Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

Good news!

Our sad fridge has transformed into…

Happy Fridge!

Life can go on.

Breakfast

Yesterday’s breakfast was still pre-shopping trip, so I snagged the last half of a bagel thin, the last wedge of Laughing Cow Light French Onion Cheese, and fried an eggwhite to make an open-faced egg sandwich:

I’ve missed my egg sandwiches!

After breakfast, I headed off to my very long, very boring Chemistry class.  By the time I got home, it was 4 o’clock, and I was starving!

Lunch

I made a salad using the last of the Smokey BBQ Chicken from last week, and topped it with a drizzle of Kraft Toasted Sesame Dressing.

I know it sounds weird to top BBQ with an Asian-flavored dressing, but for some reason, it works!

After I ate, I headed out the door again to go to my night class.  While waiting for my class to begin, I was reading my Twitter feed, and came across this Tweet from Whole Foods:

I didn’t even click on the link, because they already gave me all the inspiration I needed for dinner!  It was perfect timing, too, since I just picked up this new flavor from Laughing Cow, because I’m a Laughing Cow whore…

Stuffed Chicken with Spinach, Pears and Bleu Cheese


Servings: 2

Ingredients:

2 large chicken breasts

1 package frozen spinach, thawed

4 wedges Laughing Cow Light Bleu Cheese, OR 3/4 cup crumbled bleu cheese or gorgonzola cheese

1 Bartlett pear, chopped

1 shallot, chopped

2 cloves garlic, chopped

1 tablespoon Smart Balance

2 tablespoons Balsamic vinegar

salt + garlic powder

Directions:

For the filling:

After thawing the spinach, place it inside a CLEAN kitchen towel (preferably one you don’t love, because it will turn green), and squeeze out the excess moisture.

Place the spinach in a mixing bowl and add the cheese.

Use a fork to mix it together until well combined.

Place a skillet over medium heat.  Spray with nonstick spray.  After heating, add the shallot and cook for 1 minute.

Add the garlic and cook for an additional 1 minute.

Add the chopped pears.

Cook for 1 minute, then add the Smart Balance and Balsamic vinegar.

Cook for about 3 minutes, or until the vinegar is reduced and absorbed by the pears.  Remove from heat and add the mixture to the bowl with the spinach and cheese.

Gently mix everything together, being careful not to mash the pears.

For the chicken:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Use a sharp knife to cut a pocket into the center of the chicken.  Be careful to not let the knife cut through to the other side.

Use a fork or a spoon to place the pear, cheese and spinach mixture into the pocket.  You want to have lots of filling, to give an “overstuffed” appearance. Tip: If the filling starts to come out any holes in the bottom, use a toothpick to “sew” the hole and hold the filling inside.

Season both sides with salt and garlic powder.  Place the same skillet you used for the filling over medium heat and spray with nonstick spray.  After the pan is hot, place both chicken breasts in the skillet and brown on both sides, about 2 1/2 minutes.

Carefully remove the chicken from the skillet and place in a baking dish.  Bake in the oven for 30-35 minutes, depending on the thickness of your chicken.

 

Before

After

Serve with brown rice.

Enjoy!

Comments on: "Stuffed Chicken with Spinach, Pears and Bleu Cheese" (1)

  1. […] 1 package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and excess water squeezed out (see demonstration here) […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

