Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

The Bare Essentials

I don’t know what our problem is, but neither one of us can seem to make it to the grocery store over the weekend.

The result? A very naked, very sad refrigerator (<—- Did you know that wasn’t spelled with a “d” in it?!)

Nakey Fridge

Side Note: You may have noticed that whenever I talk about grocery shopping, I use the words “we” and “our“, and that is because Corey and I really like getting the groceries together.  We like to plan meals together, and I like having him there not only to entertain me, but to make sure I don’t forget anything that he wants or that we need.  However, his companionship at the store does come with a price- he makes a beeline straight for the sample lady and ignores whatever it was that I was trying to ask him until he has a plate of food in his hands.  I’ll take what I can get.

Mom, stop rolling your eyes. (She thinks it’s weird when couples grocery shop together, and always makes it a point to make fun of the newlyweds blissfully picking out poultry together).

However, on some occasions during the week, if we are running low on groceries, we will make a quick trip to the store and pick up the bare essentials to get us through a few more days without making a big shopping trip.

Our bare essentials usually include:

  • Sugar-Free Coffee Creamer
  • Bagel Thins
  • Frozen Veggies
  • A Publix Ready-to-Cook meal

They say most people’s essentials are milk, bread and eggs…I just didn’t know you could survive on french toast alone 🙂 .

Anyways, the point is, yesterday’s meals were Boresville thanks to the lack of food in the house.

Breakfast

I had a toasted whole wheat bagel thin, spread with 1 wedge of Laughing Cow French Onion cheese, and a side of grapes.  Oh, and can’t forget my beloved thermos full o’ coffee.

Workout

Corey and I had every intention of beginning the week by reverting back to our old workout schedule, which we adhered to religiously when both of us had full-time jobs.  We would wake up at 6:30, drive straight to the gym, and come home with enough time for both of us to shower and make it downtown for work by 9.  Well…6:30 came a little earlier than both of us expected.  It was raining, it was dark…you get the picture.  We skipped the early morning workout, and I headed over to the gym at our apartment complex at a much more respectable hour.

I completed 30 minutes on the treadmill including 10 minutes of uphill sprinting, and I also completed sets of lunges and squats that had my legs on fire in no time.

Lunch

I was pleasantly surprised to find that we still had some Smokey BBQ Chicken leftover from last week, so I made an open-faced bagel sandwich with the leftovers:

I only used half of a bagel thin, so I had some extra chicken on the side.  I also ate a banana with peanut butter.

I spent the rest of the afternoon cleaning the apartment and catching up on laundry, and then I headed off to class.

Dinner

Seeing that it was Monday, you can probably guess what was for dinner:

Yep, Pollo Tropical- chicken, yellow rice and veggie Tropichop.  I’m just going to stop fighting it and accept that the Monday Night Tradition will probably live on forever, even if The Bachelor isn’t on TV.

What are your “bare essentials” for groceries?

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

