Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

One Year Ago

Today is a special day for Corey and I!  One year ago, Corey asked me to marry him.  Be still my beating heart.

Most normal people celebrate the one-year anniversary of their engagement by, ya know, actually getting married.

Well, we’re not so normal.  But, that’s OK!

Our wedding day is still a year and 8 months away, but I know that time is going to fly by.  I still can’t believe we’ve already been engaged for a year!

I thought it would be fun to tell you guys about the proposal, in honor of this memorable day.

The Proposal

Unbeknownst to me, Corey had the ring hidden in our house for over 3 months.  I had absolutely no idea that he was even considering proposing in the near future.

It got to the point where he just couldn’t stand to have it in his possession anymore, because the proposal was spur of the moment!

We had been out with our friends, and he asked if we could leave early, because he wasn’t feeling well.  We lived with roommates at the time, and we never usually left without them, but on this night, he insisted.

When we got home, I went into our room and turned on the T.V.  I heard a lot of fumbling in the kitchen, and Corey had been in there for over 15 minutes.  I kept asking him if he was OK, and he awkwardly yelled that he would be there in a second.

Next thing I knew, Bella in all her cuteness came strutting in the room and hopped up on the bed.  I started to pet her absent-mindedly, and then, I saw it.

The exact ring I had been dreaming about, talking about, staring at in magazines…was hanging from my dog’s collar.  At the same moment that I saw it, Corey walked into the room with a huge smile on his face, and I burst into tears.  We’re not talking a few tears of joy, here.  I literally lost it. Corey took the ring off of Bella’s collar, put it on my finger and asked me if I would marry him.  It was emotional for both of us, and also the happiest moment I’ve ever experienced.  I had known since the first few weeks of dating Corey that he was who I wanted to marry, and I was overwhelmed with love for him at that moment, and still am, today!

Here’s a picture of my ring that I took the next day to send to friends and family:

The next day, we went to the beach and ate lunch at one of our favorite places, called Breakers.

The only bad thing was that I cried for so long the night before, my eyes were practically swollen shut the next day, hence, the sunglasses.

Ok, I’m sure that’s more than enough mushy love talk for you all to handle today 🙂

Onto the food!

Breakfast

I love any excuse to make a special Sunday morning breakfast, and today certainly called for just that!

Nothing too fancy.  I popped open a tube of cinnamon rolls and baked them, and then topped them with icing.

We enjoyed our rolls with fresh strawberries and a thermos full of coffee.

After eating, we got ready and went to church.  After the service, we ran some errands, including more clothes shopping for Corey!  I was extra excited about my shopping finds for the day:

I got two new books by my favorite authors, Emily Giffin and Kristin Hannah.

I also picked up this adorable box of cupcake mix and some fun cupcake liners from Marshall’s!

Now, all I need is some free time to read and an excuse to bake, and I’ll be all set!

After shopping, we headed to Panera for lunch.  I ordered a You-Pick-2, with french onion soup, half of a tuna sandwich on wheat bread, and a whole wheat baguette on the side.

I took the croutons out of the soup and replaced them with pieces of the wheat baguette, instead.  I am loving that Panera now displays the calorie content of each menu item.  Very helpful!

After letting our food digest for a while, we changed and went to the gym for an easy 35-minute workout.  I spent my time on the elliptical watching Real Housewives of Miami re-runs, while waiting for Corey to finish his weights workout.  When we got home, we decided to take Bella on a well-deserved 25-minute walk through our neighborhood.

We were definitely ready for dinner when we got home, and I was happy to have lots of already-prepared items in the fridge.  I baked 2 Publix Ready-to-Cook Chicken Cordon Bleu.  For our sides, I microwaved Lightly Sauced Roasted Potatoes in Garlic Butter Sauce and Green Giant Broccoli and Cheese.

I love quick dinners!

We’re off to watch some of our favorite shows (Real Housewives of OC tonight!!) and then get to bed early.  Corey has his first day at his new job tomorrow, which means we are reverting back to our old morning routine- early workouts!

Have a great night!

Comments on: "One Year Ago" (5)

  1. I love the engagement story! So cute! And the ring is gorgeous! Is it the Tiffany embrace?
    BTW-Have you read “Love the one you’re with” by Emily Giffin? I loved it!

    • Thank you! No, he had it made to look exactly like the Ritani Bella Vita collection. I read Something Borrowed and Something Blue- I was debating between her new one and “Love the One You’re With” but decided to go with the new one! I will have to read that one next!

  2. Awww! That’s such a cute story! Congratulations! You’re going to be a beautiful bride!! 🙂

  3. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY you two love birds!!!! I totally forgot. And yes, the next year and a half will fly by!!! Thanks for re-telling the story. It made me cry too! Love you! Hope Corey’s first day at the job went better than some of YOUR first days/……….LOL

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

