Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

Green With Envy

Blah. Today needs to be over!

While all my wild friends (and wild fiance, I might add) are out at the bars around campus chugging unhealthy amounts of FD&C Green No. 3 mixed with crappy beer, here I sit, on my couch, after just getting home from the longest day ever. I am exhausted, and the only shade of green I am sporting is on my face- green with envy!

I woke up early this morning, made breakfast, and headed to the middle school to teach a 7th grade math class.

Breakfast

Like I said earlier, as of this morning, my refrigerator looked like no one lives in our apartment, so my breakfast was pretty boring:

Booooring

Next stop- Boresville

Just your standard Quaker Weight Control Maple and Brown Sugar Oatmeal, topped with a drizzle of sugar-free syrup.

Lunch

Thank goodness I made extra tuna salad the other day, or else I would’ve been screwed in the lunch department today.

Tuna to the Rescue

I topped a good helping of broccoli slaw with tuna salad, and then topped that with a drizzle of Kraft Toasted Sesame Dressing.

After teaching, I had just enough time to run to the grocery store and pick up the ingredients I needed for the traditional St. Patrick’s Day meal of corned beef and cabbage.  I walked through the door after class to the aroma of corned beef and cabbage cooking away in the slow cooker!

Dinner

My mom has made this every year for St. Patrick’s Day since I can remember, and it’s a tradition I plan to carry on for my own family one day, too! Even though we’re Scottish, not Irish, I always tell people it’s basically the same thing (which I’m pretty sure is not true at all).  Corey, however, is actually very Irish and very Polish, so he makes up for my deficiency.

You’re supposed to cook this dish for a long time, but I didn’t have a long time to spare!  I brainstormed ways to speed up the process, and figured the best option would be to brown the meat on both sides in a skillet, and then cook it on high for 5 hours in the slow cooker.

Into the slow cooker went:

  • 1 package of Mosey’s Corned Beef + Seasoning Packet
  • 3/4 small package of baby carrots
  • 4 peeled and quartered Russet potatoes
  • 1 head of cabbage, cut into wedges
  • 2 cups water

That’s it!  I put the lid on and hoped for the best.

It tasted just as good as I remember my mom’s tasting.  I think the only mistake I made was browning it before cooking- it kind of made the meat a little tough. But it was still great! I went back for seconds.

Time to watch Jersey Shore and get started on the mountain of laundry that’s calling my name.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Comments on: "Green With Envy" (2)

  1. Hey Carly,
    I came across your blog randomly and wanted to say hello–I am also a graduate of UCF (May 2009) and love reading your creative ways to cook! I’m not a big “cooker” but like seeing out of the box ideas! You would probably like my friend Megan’s healthy living blog, hers started out a lot like yours and now has sky rocketed to quite the money maker for her! (She got FoodBuzz to pay her for writing!) Her blog is http://meganerdruns.com. She is also a UCF grad! Anyway, I’m subscribed to your blog and now looking forward to reading!
    -Taylor

  2. Hi Taylor! Thank you for subscribing! I have heard of Megan’s blog before- I just checked it out and you’re right, I love it! I hope to reach similar success with my blog one day. It’s awesome to hear from a fellow UCF grad! GO KNIGHTS! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

