Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

Breakfast for Dessert

Well, if I thought Tuesday was busy, yesterday and today take the cake!

I was so tired last night I didn’t quite get around to posting, so I’ll recap yesterday’s meals today.

Breakfast

I started off the morning with a hot bowl of Quaker Weight Control Oatmeal in Maple & Brown Sugar flavor.  I guess Tuesday night’s mini dessert stirred up a major craving for chocolate and peanut butter combos, because that’s exactly what ended up in my bowl!

Chocolate-y Oats!

Yum!

I mixed in 1/2 tablespoon of Hershey’s Natural Cocoa Powder, and 1/2 tablespoon of Skippy Natural Peanut Butter.  I also had a cup of Twining’s English Breakfast Tea with a splash of almond milk.

Workout

After breakfast, I walked over to the gym for a semi-lazy workout.  It was actually pretty crowded, and I get anxiety if there’s too many people in such a small gym, so I got out of there after completing 20 minutes of intervals on the treadmill, and 15 minutes on the stationary bike.  I also included 2 sets of abs using the stability ball.

Lunch

Lunch was another version of chicken curry leftovers!

I mixed the remaining slow cooker shredded chicken with 1 tablespoon light mayo, 1 tablespoon yellow mustard, and 1 stalk of diced celery.  I placed my chicken salad on top of a toasted whole wheat English muffin, and served it alongside leftover roasted brussel sprouts and yellow squash.

Chicken Salad + Veggies

Delish!

I am not a fan of your everyday chicken salad, because for some unknown reason, people think it’s normal to throw in grapes and raisins and nuts and all kinds of weird things!  This version of chicken salad was much more delightful to my fruit-mixture-hating palate.

Dinner

This time, it wasn’t just me who walked through the door passed 9 o’clock.  Corey had a huge test last night, so he didn’t get home until around 9:45.  Luckily, he had dinner in his hands, ready to go!

We both enjoyed 1/4 chicken dinner plates from Boston Market:

Dinna

Close up of the good part!

For my sides, I had the vegetable medley and roasted potatoes.  Naturally, I had not only one piece of their heavenly cornbread, but I requested an extra, which I split with Corey…only because he looked sad that he didn’t have his own extra piece.  I love this as a fast-food dinner, because if you remove the skin from the chicken and skip the cornbread, it has less than 400 calories.

Corey and I have been on a major sweets kick lately, but, our STILL naked kitchen has dwindled down to basically nothing dessert-like to offer us after our dinners. Leave it to me to figure out a way to make something to eat out of nothing.

Among the other goodies my parents sent me home with last weekend was a loaf of my mom’s homemade sourdough bread!  I stared at it long and hard after dinner, willing it to turn into a piece of cake, and then Corey said, “How ’bout french toast?”

Eureka!

I sprayed a skillet with non-stick spray and put it over medium-heat.  While it pre-heated, I got out a small baking dish and cracked an egg into it.  I poured in about 3/4 cup of almond milk, and beat the egg with the milk.  I added 1 tablespoon Splenda, 2 teaspoons cinnamon, 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract, and mixed everything together.

Next, I sliced four slices of bread and placed them in the mixture to soak for 2 minutes on each side (the fourth slice didn’t fit, so I soaked and cooked it on its own.)

After the mixture was almost all soaked up into the bread, I placed each slice in the hot skillet, and cooked until brown on both sides.

I sprinkled the top with powdered sugar, topped it off with sugar-free syrup, and it was ready to eat!

This was just fabulous, especially for someone who has never made french toast before!  I will definitely be making this for breakfast in the future, but I will most likely substitute whole wheat bread for the homemade sourdough next time (mainly because I won’t have any left by then!) I highly recommend trying out this recipe for an impressive breakfast or brunch.  It would also be great topped with fresh berries (not different types mixed together, of course 😉 ).

I better stop blogging and start paying attention to the professor in front of me rambling on about muscles.  I just found out I was the only one in the class to get 100% on our last exam.  Holla!

Do you enjoy having breakfast for dinner?  (Or dessert?)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

