Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

Rainy Day Thursdays…

Karen Carpenter should’ve sang, “Rainy day Thursdays always get me down….” instead of “Mondays”.

Today was a rainy one in Orlando, and that’s exactly how my mood felt!  I definitely caught up on the sleep I missed on Tuesday night, but I think I caught up a little too much.  It was one of those times where you wake up and have to look at the clock 3 times because you don’t believe how late it is!

Breakfast

I was in the mood for a cold breakfast, so I decided to make a Power Smoothie.

Power up!

In the blender went:

  • 1/2 cup 0% Chobani Vanilla Greek Yogurt
  • 1/2 cup sliced strawberries
  • 1 small banana
  • 1/2 tablespoon Skippy Natural Peanut Butter
  • 1 packet of Splenda
  • 1 scoop Biggest Loser Chocolate Protein Powder
  • 3 frozen broccoli florets
  • Handful of ice cubes

Yes, that says broccoli florets.  I’ve read several health blogs with smoothie recipes that add spinach into the mix, because supposedly, you can’t taste it when it’s mixed with the sweetness of fruit!  I didn’t have any spinach on hand, but when I spotted the broccoli in the freezer, I thought, “hey, why not?” I definitely couldn’t taste it, but I think if I had added more than I did, the texture would have been weird.  I’ll just add spinach to the grocery list!

I spent most of the day growing into an actual couch potato.  Around lunchtime, I started searching for something easy to make.

Lunch

Easy, yes.  Normal? Not really.  I ended up taking a whole wheat tortilla, spreading a wedge of Laughing Cow Light Swiss cheese over it, and then adding diced red pepper and broccoli slaw, topped with Kraft Toasted Sesame Dressing.

Weird Wrap

Colorful bite!

This was strangely tasty!

After lunch, I walked over to the gym for a quick workout which can be found here. Next thing I knew, it was time to make dinner!

Dinner

I broiled 2 Publix Ready-to-Cook Mesquite Rubbed Pork Chops, and made a random decision to make some mashed potatoes for a side dish.  I brought a pot of water to a boil with 4 Russet potatoes inside.  I wanted to add some flavor, so I also added 4 garlic cloves to the water with the potatoes.  After about 20 minutes of cooking, they were fork tender and ready for mashing!

I drained the water, and then poured in 1/4 cup of almond milk, 1/4 cup fat free sour cream, 1/4 cup shredded parmesan cheese, and 1 wedge of Laughing Cow Light Swiss Cheese.  Mash, mash, mash!

These turned out to be creamy and really flavorful!  The garlic was a good decision.  Corey was just as bored as I was from sitting around all day, so he came into the kitchen in the mood to be helpful!  What he ended up doing was against my better judgement, but I let it happen anyways.  He took some of the skin from the potatoes I peeled, dried them off, and then fried them up in a skillet with olive oil!  He added some garlic powder and a splash of Worcestershire, and after about 10 minutes, he had some crispy potato skins to munch on.

Chef Corey

Skins!

While the pork finished cooking, I popped this into the microwave:

These turned out to be really good!  It came with a little packet of slivered almonds to put on the top of the green beans.

I topped my mashed potatoes with some of Corey’s potato skin creations, and it was a great addition!  It made the potatoes taste more like smashed potatoes from a restaurant, which I really like.

We ate dinner pretty early for us, which is never a good idea, because we both start to get hungry all over again around 8 o’clock.  I made several trips to the kitchen while watching a movie to grab little treats like chocolate chips, a cookie or two, and then I had the idea to make a semi-healthy milkshake!  I opened the freezer to grab our Publix Premium Light No-Sugar-Added Vanilla Ice Cream….and was UNpleasantly surprised to feel that it was completely empty!  Corey has an awesome habit of placing EMPTY containers back in the fridge or pantry, which always results in a very angry ME.  I settled for a banana and peanut butter, instead.

I have to teach tomorrow, and then I’m driving straight to Ft. Lauderdale to visit my family!  Better get to bed early!

Comments on: "Rainy Day Thursdays…" (3)

  1. That dinner looks super tasty! Do you ever plan your meals? I have a hard time “whipping something up in the spur of the moment”. But I suppose that comes with more cooking experience. Something I need to get way more of! 🙂

    • Sometimes I will plan out full meals, or certain parts of a meal- for example, I knew I was making that pork with a Green Giant frozen side, but the potatoes were spur of the moment. You’re right- once you get more cooking experience, you will inevitably have a stocked pantry full of essential items, which is always helpful for the whole “whipping up” part of cooking!

  2. […] lack of ingredients in the fridge resulted in yet another version of yesterday’s strange creation. I switched out the whole wheat tortilla for a whole wheat English muffin, topped it with a wedge of […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

