Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

Cocoa Beach or Bust

I’m sorry, did I leave you last night with the words, “We have fun plans for the next two days!” ???

What I should have said is, “We’re about to have the most boring day ever.”

Corey and I were standing on the metaphorical side of the Highway of Life today, holding a sign that said, “Cocoa Beach or Bust”…and Life sped by us in it’s red Ferrari and gave us the finger.

We DID have plans to go with a bunch of our friends to Cocoa Beach for the next two days, for a fun-filled vacation of sun and sand and frozen drinks…but, instead, we woke up to FRIGID Florida temperatures, clouds, and a late start to the day, that resulted in a cancelled trip.  However, we will salvage some type of Spring Break-y-ness from this week, and we’re hoping to make our way to Cocoa Beach tomorrow, instead.

Breakfast

Breakfast was a bowl full of protein topped with a special treat.

Yogurt + Dessert

I topped 1 cup of Chobani 0% Vanilla Greek Yogurt with a crumbled Whole Wheat Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies that I made last night.  Delish!

After breakfast, we did a lot of sitting around and debating about our planned trip.  Once we finally came to the conclusion that it wasn’t happening, we headed out for lunch and some random errands.

Lunch

We headed to Chipotle for one of our favorite lunches:

Spicyyyy Salad

We both ordered Chicken Salads.  Mine included:

  • Chicken
  • Black Beans
  • Fajita Veggies (sauteed onions and green peppers)
  • Mild salsa
  • Corn salsa
  • A “little” cheese
  • 1 container of dressing, which seems to be a salsa-based concoction, a.k.a., low-calorie

Delicious, as always.

After lunch, we embarked on a bunch of random and pointless “errands”.  The first one was to Best Buy, which I got completely tricked into participating in.  Corey made it sound like they had the new iPad 2 that he wanted to test out- not that that is an acceptable reason to go there, but it would have been better than the real reason we were there- to play with the old iPad, which we have done on more occasions than I care to admit.  After a good half hour of wiping my fingers across what I assume to be the germiest surface I’ve touched since my last Microbiology practical, we left and headed to our next pointless destination- Sam Ash.

Going to Sam Ash, which is a music and instrument store, reminded me of my childhood.  I can remember several times, usually when school was out for summer, that my mom would take my sister and I to music stores to pick out new sheet music for her piano students, and we would always end up playing with all the fun instruments.  Today, I realized how much I miss that part of my life!  For those who don’t know me personally, music is a huge part of my life.  I played the piano for 13 years, took private voice lessons from the age of 10 until I was about 16, and I have been in more choirs than one would consider to be normal.  I spent most Saturdays and Sundays singing for church services and various choral concerts when I was growing up, and I even made some money as a wedding singer in high school.  I actually went to my college because I auditioned and was accepted into their Vocal Performance program, although, I did end up changing my major eventually.  My point is, I miss the thrill of learning a new song and getting to perform it somewhere.  Karaoke is pretty much the only stage I’ve been in quite a while.  I think I will make it a project to learn a new song on the piano in the coming months!  Stay tuned (no pun intended).

For anyone who is interested, here is a link to a video of me singing the National Anthem.

Onto dinner!

Dinner

By the time dinner rolled around, we were pretty stir crazy from sitting in the house all day.  Even Bella was annoyed:

"You people BORE ME more than this pink chew toy!"

We were in the mood for a pizza, so we went to one of our favorite pizza places in Winter Park- Mellow Mushroom.

After ordering drinks, we decided to split a Greek salad:

Greek Salad

And we also ordered a “Freshy” pizza, which consisted of mozzarella, tomato and fresh basil:

Pizza Pizza!

Again, I apologize for the cell phone pictures, but anytime we sit at the bar, I just can’t get up the nerve to whip out my camera!

Seeing that it’s Monday night, there is only one thing that is calling my name right now- The Bachelor!  Hopefully, I’ll have good news to report tomorrow night about a fun trip to Cocoa Beach…fingers crossed!

What is your favorite way to “healthify” a pizza?

Who do you want to win The Bachelor- Chantal or Emily?

Comments on: "Cocoa Beach or Bust" (6)

  1. I think the words pizza and healthy should never be combined, I don’t care who wins the Bachelor (okay maybe Lauren did tell me that Emily is perfect) but I am VERY interested in this new song you are going to learn on the piano!!!!!!!! And I’m glad you had as much fun as I did in Sam Ash when you were little. Love you!!!!

  2. Hey girl! I posted your letter 🙂

  3. Found your blog via biochemista! I LOVE IT! I am so excited.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

