Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

FAIL!

First of all, I apologize for going MIA for the last 24 hours!  After my afternoon post yesterday, things got pretty stressful!  Mainly because while I was galavanting around this weekend, I completely forgot that this week is MIDTERM week!  But we’ll get to that in a second.  When I left off, I said “see ya for dinner!” Well, when I wrote that, I was planning to return with a fabulous post detailing a new recipe.

Corey and I had a slight miscommunication…twice…about when and who was going to Publix yesterday- it was an emergency in my mind, since our fridge was naked from the previous week and weekend!  I’ll spare the gory details, but I didn’t make it to the store yesterday, and, as much as I had hoped to avoid it after last week’s heartburn, our Monday Night Tradition lived on for another week.  My dinner looked like this:

Pollo Tropical it was!  This time, I opted for a chicken salad.  The guy at the window didn’t give me dressing (of course) so I topped it with some BBQ sauce and Curry sauce that Corey gets with this TropiChop.

Fail #1.

Breakfast

Not only had I been banking on a great dinner recipe, I also had big plans to surprise Corey and make healthy pancakes for breakfast this morning, in honor of National Pancake Day!  After Miscommunication #2 about when to go to Publix this morning, by the time we got back, it was too late for me to make a fun breakfast.  I resorted to a bowl of Chobani 0% Vanilla Greek Yogurt, topped with a small banana, a few sliced strawberries, and a sprinkling of Splenda:

Not pancakes 😦

But still good!

This was actually quite a delicious combo that I will definitely be repeating, but since I was dead-set on pancakes for breakfast, this is still being named Fail #2.

Lunch

Earlier today, I made a big bowl of tuna salad for the week.  I combined 2 packets of Starkist Chunk Light Tuna packed in water with 1 chopped medium carrot, 1 chopped celery stalk, 2 tablespoons of Hellman’s Light Mayo, and 1 tablespoon of yellow mustard.  I scooped a few spoonfuls onto a toasted Thomas’ 100% Whole Wheat Bagel Thin, topped it with a generous sprinkling of shredded cheddar cheese, and popped it in the microwave to create a healthy tuna melt!

Melty!

Too melty!

Well, after the cheese didn’t melt when I put it in for 15 seconds, I added another 10.  Still not melted!  I added another 20 seconds.  In case you were wondering, microwaving tuna is really not OK.  It tasted like hot…fish.  I know tuna is fish, (or is it chicken? HA! I’ve been waiting for 6 years to be able to fit that quote into my life!)  The point is, it wasn’t good. I still ate it, but in the future, I will be using the oven to make tuna melts.

Fail #3.

After an extremely stressful Anatomy test, I was so ready for a delicious dinner.  Side note: Did you know that there aren’t just names for all the bones in the body, there’s names for every crack, crevice, space, and tiny hole in EVERY bone?  Yeah, my mandible dropped, too, when I heard that.  Especially when I was told that I had to memorize all of them!  Never woke up in a cold sweat in the middle of the night due to an upcoming test until now!  But, I digress.

I was excited to finally use the George Foreman Quesadilla Maker that Corey’s mom got me for Christmas this year!

I decided to make vegetarian quesadillas, so I made a filling out of sliced mushrooms, black beans and diced tomatoes.  I sprinkled the mixture with paprika, chili powder, garlic powder, and cumin, cooked it over medium heat for about 5 minutes, and it was ready to go.  I picked up a new kind of tortilla today, mainly because the kind I normally buy would not have been big enough for our dilla-maker.  Unfortunately, I failed to notice that the label said “Whole Wheat and RYE”.  Rye + Mexican flavors do not mix.  Actually, I can’t think of anything that tastes good with rye, except a Reuben sandwich!

After one bite, Corey and I both dubbed this dinner Fail #4, and I decided to make something else.

I cooked a package of Buitoni Whole Wheat Cheese Tortellini, microwaved a bowl full of Bird’s Eye Frozen Broccoli Stir Fry Mixed Vegetables, tossed those together, and topped it with Publix Premium Four Cheese Marinara.

We both cleared our plates….but only out of pure starvation.  This was not a winner in our books, therefore, it is Fail #5.  I think it would have been better with a different sauce.

My ego is bruised, to say the least.

I guess sometimes it’s just not a good day in the kitchen!

I really wanted to give it one more shot and try out a recipe for Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies, but I’m just too exhausted.  Plus, I’m not in the mood for Fail #6!  I resorted to a handful of one ingredient, instead:

Chips!

Well, time for another late night of studying.  I cannot wait until Thursday night!  SPRING BREAK!

What has been your worst “fail” in the kitchen?

Comments on: "FAIL!" (1)

  1. […] When I first started making this, it appeared that I was going to have to add it to the list of Fails from yesterday when this happened: […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

