Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

Tomorrow is the day!  I’m going to buy a camera tomorrow and I am extra excited about it.  Corey let me use his iPhone again for one last crappy picture (no offense to you Appleheads) of our dinner.

I intended to make tonight’s dinner another one of my simple, low calorie meals like this one.  When it came out of the oven, Corey saw me chopping up lettuce and asked if he could just have a “really BIG salad!”

If any of you watch Seinfeld as much as we do, you’re probably laughing.  I couldn’t help but think of this episode where Elaine orders The Big Salad and George freaks out about how he paid for it.  “If it was a regular salad, I wouldn’t have cared, but you had to have the BIGGGG SALAD!!” Gets me every time.

Anyways, back to dinner.  So, per Corey’s request, I ended up chopping up Romaine lettuce, tomatoes, and BBQ chicken breast, and tossing it all together with a homemade BBQ Ranch dressing.  It was great!  Call me crazy, but I even topped mine with roasted broccoli that I had in the oven.

There are two rules that I have when it comes to my salads:

1. Everything must be chopped and tossed until I have a perfectly combined chopped salad in front of me.

2.  It has to have a lot of different textures and treats in it, enter, roasted broccoli.  This one followed my rules and was simple to throw together.

BBQ Chicken Salad


Servings: 1

Ingredients:

2 cups Romaine lettuce, chopped

1 tomato, seeded and diced

1 BBQ chicken breast, chopped

BBQ Ranch Dressing:


Servings: 1-2

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons Light Ranch dressing

2 tablespoons of your favorite BBQ Sauce

Directions:

Toss everything in a big bowl with the dressing and serve up your BIG SALAD!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

