Healthy Recipes to Keep You Fit and Fabulous

I have a confession.  I am mildly obsessed with eggplant.  Ok, majorly obsessed.  I could probably find a way to eat it at every meal, if Corey would let me subject him to such torture.  Many people claim that they hate eggplant because it has a “weird texture”.  I think they’re just not trying to right dishes!  I consider myself an eggplant connoisseur, so anytime Corey and I try out a new restaurant and I see eggplant on the menu, I have to try it!  The other night, we went to P.F. Changs for dinner.  Normally, we splurge and get the Mongolian Beef and an order of Shrimp Lo Mein.  However, we were in the mood for something new, and then I saw my favorite 8-letter word: Stir-Fried EGGPLANT!  We ordered it, and it was simply delicious.  The sauce was thick and spicy.  It was filling enough to substitute a meat dish, and flavorful enough that Corey didn’t even realize he was eating his arch enemy.  I decided to try to recreate this dish at home, and it was so easy to do!  However, I have a feeling the restaurant version has juuuust a few more calories…just a hunch.  My version is great for a side dish!

Spicy Eggplant


Servings: 4

Ingredients:

2 medium to large eggplant, peeled and chopped into cubes

3 tablespoons reduced-sodium Soy Sauce

1 tablespoon rice wine vinegar

1/2 tablespoon honey

1 teaspoon corn starch

1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon toasted sesame seeds

salt and pepper, to taste

2 tablespoons EVOO

Directions:

In a skillet, heat the EVOO over medium heat.  Add the cubed eggplant to the pan.  Cook until softened, about 5 minutes, being sure to use your spatula to move it around so it doesn’t stick to the bottom of the pan.  In a bowl, whisk together the soy sauce, vinegar, honey, and corn starch, until well blended together.  Pour sauce over the eggplant, and continue to cook another 3-4 minutes, until sauce thickens slightly and eggplant is cooked through. Season with red pepper flakes, garlic powder, salt and pepper, and sesame seeds.  Mix together and serve hot.


Comments on: "Bring P.F. Changs to Your Kitchen. Recipe: Spicy Eggplant" (1)

  1. Look delish!!!!! Can’t wait to use this one!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

